Emily's Famous Chocolate Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
A great all purpose cookie. I placed them in the kitchen at work when I got in at 8:30 and they were all gone by lunch time. I will use this easy recipe for all holidays and occasions. Thanks Emily, where ever you are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aubriek
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Good cookies. I did as others suggested and used extra cocoa and less flour. Cookies turned out great - I used a combination of flour and cocoa to dust them with when I rolled them out. I used fudge icing and they tasted almost like brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aubriek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Turned out absolutely perfect! After following the recipe, I added about a 1/2 cup of Chocolate Mint Baileys and then enough flower to restore the cookie dough's consistency. They taste delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacupnosaucer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Great cookies! I followed the recipe exactly except swapping 1/2 cup flour for cocoa becasue I love chocolate!. I chilled the dough overnight and rolled them out the next day. They rolled out wonderful. They made great Christmas cookies, used "Sugar Cookie Icing" from this site which also was wonderful. Allrecipes and the member reviews NEVER let me down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajlog78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seffner, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I was making chocolate cut out cookies for a xmas sale and tried this recipe. I followed other reviewers and substituted 1/4C flour with cocoa powder. I found the cookies not sweet at all, and rather more on the bitter side. The cookies were also very crumbly. That did not help as I had to decorate the cookies. Every little movement crumbled a few cookies and it was really frustrating to me. In the end, I tweaked the recipe by using the original amount of flour, reduced the cocoa powder by 10-15g, added a pinch of baking soda, substituted icing sugar with fine sugar and increased the amount of sugar quantity. That made the cookies more manageable and easier to handle. I made about 22 to 24 pieces of 4-inch cookies per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This recipe tasted okay, but not worth doing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
love this recipe I made it with my 6 yo and she had a lot of fun. they came out so pretty. we used Halloween cutters. the flavor is great. I will made theses cookies again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
i did not like these. i found them to taste kind of bitter and i love dark chocolate so that was weird. i would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Taking the advice of others I increased the cocoa by ¼ cup and decreased the flour by the same amount. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Delicious chocolatey cookie! I did take the advice of other reviewers and increased the cocoa for my double batch by 1/2 C and decreased the flour by the same. These turned out wonderfully, and it's too bad I'm selling them, because my kids can't keep their hands off of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States