Emily's Famous Chocolate Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
It didn't resemble a shortbread in taste at all. It was a cookie so my kids ate it, but I wasn't impressed. It wasn't buttery, crispy of chocolaty enough for the name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made a huge batch of these right before a party and I don't know what went wrong but they were so dry and dense I couldn't even chew it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Bateman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Perfect! These cookies were exactly what I was looking for. I followed others suggestions of adding extra cocoa and I added some chocolate chips (about 1/2 a bag) at the end. After I added the eggs and vanilla I ended up having to mix the dough by hand. It was very stiff, but perfect for rolling and cutting. They are crunchy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I followed one reviewer and substituted an extra 1/2c of cocoa for the 1/2c of flour. Lovely dense texture. The melted chocolate chip topping makes the cookie. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dimples
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I just love this recipe! I've been using for it all the wedding favors I make. I also make a version on a skewer stick, by inserting a wet skewer stick just before baking. My version of the recipe is, I add 1 cup of cocoa and 1 cup of cornflour but less cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
These turned out really great - held there shape and tasted good. A nice change of pace from standard sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Just used this as the "crust" for a chocolate mousse tart-I did decrease the flour and substitute cocoa according to other rater's proportions. 1/2 of the recipe worked great for a standard tart pan and I just pressed it in. After cooling, I spread hot fudge (not warmed, but straight out of the jar) and then I topped with "chocolate mousse" (1 sm. pkg choc inst. choc pudding mixed with 1 cup milk and folded into 1 pint of whipping cream that was whipped). Plan to serve with raspberry sauce-can't wait! curious to see how the cookie crust will slice-but am sure it will be yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Absolutely fantastic and to make them double chocolatey I dipped in melted choc chips/Almond Bark. I made them look like biscoti dipped in chocolate. And they freeze great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
As suggested by others, I increased the cocoa and decreased the flour accordingly. This was a tasty recipe with an easy to work with dough. It is too fragile to work with detailed or large (over 2") cutters though. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
So tasty! I substituted mint extract for the vanilla and made my own thin mints! Nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States