Emily's Famous Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
the people who didn't like this recipe either didn't follow it (by their own admission) or thought it was too hot... which is a personal problem, not a problem with the recipe. we love this recipe and even add an extra jalapeno or two. Definitely our new base chili recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Ashburn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I would rate this recipe a 2. I enjoy very spicey food, but this tecipe was entirely to spicey to enjoy. And I even used less cumin and chili powder than the recipe required. Spicey is good when you can taste all of the ingredients. All I could taste was hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Loved it and all my guests loved it!!! I will use this chili recipe from now on. I left out beans and only used half the peppers it called for (jalapeño and chipotle) and it was still spicy... So careful on that....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Delicious! Just enough zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I've been using this recipe and only this recipe since I found it on Allrecipes. Lots of heat, and flavour. It is really hot, nose running, sweating hot. If you prefer less heat, omit the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, or don't use as much. I have a pot of it on the stove right now. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I loved this recipe but I agree that the original recipe is slightly too spicy. I added 2/3 of the can of chipotle, leaving a whole pepper plus a fair bit of sauce out. I also left out the water+flour and used an extra can of diced tomatoes. I think cocoa powder might also add to this recipe. I will be trying it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made this and it was so flavorless. I mean it was hot but there was no taste to it. I managed to add some brown sugar and made it just barely edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Delicious!!! It's definitely got a ton of kick so beware and adjust if need be...otherwise it has excellent flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Stanley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was my first attempt at making chili. Best chili I've eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Savory, meaty and satisfying. A couple of notes: use at least a 6 quart pot, use 1 less cup of water, and if you like it less spicy, try to seed the chipotle peppers as much as possible. After reading other reviews that recommneded adding pork, I included 6 slices of thick cut hickory smoked bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States