Emily's Famous Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I'm always looking for new ways to use up bananas. Now that my dad knows I bake a lot with bananas, he's now bringing all his ripe ones for me to use. I followed GodivaGirl's lead and cut back on the flour, as she thought it was too thick. I did half a cup of wheat and half a cup of white. I added in a half teaspoon of salt and a little bit of nutmeg. End result was a moist, flavorful banana muffin. I think if I were to make these again, some chopped walnuts would make these perfection. Super fast to throw together tonight as to have less of a hassle for Sunday breakfast. I plan on pairing it with a fresh fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Good banana and oat flavor, but a bit dry. First off, I'm sure it's a misprint but I put in 1 WHOLE egg, instead of a tablespoon of egg! I subbed canola oil for vegetable oil, 1 cup of all purpose flour in place of 2 cups of wheat flour. For some who may not know rolled oats are old-fashioned oats, not quick cooking. Finally, I added 1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed. The batter was very thick, filled my paper liners 3/4's of the way full. My muffins cooked in 20 minutes and I got 14 muffins. Next time I will try applesauce in place of the oil and maybe a handful of chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I made this recipe with one cup white flour instead of any wheat; one cup quick oats instead of slow-cooking; 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup applesauce. It was really good, especially considering the reduction in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I've been making muffins for quick weekday breakfasts for years now and was looking for something new. These muffins are great! I wasn't sure about the ginger at first. This may sound strange, especially since there is no butter in this recipe, but the mixture of ingredients comes together to give the muffins a rich, deep, almost buttery flavor. I followed the recipe exactly, and the muffins did seem a little dry at first. (If we were to eat them the day they were made, I'd probably add 2 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce, for more moisture.) I tend to refrigerate the muffins, and we eat them over the course of a week. This works really well, since this gives the spices a chance to develop depth of flavor, and the moisture of the bananas develops as well. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Updated amounted of egg from 1 tablespoon to 1 whole. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
After noting the comments that these could be dry, I cut the vegetable oil (I used canola) to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup plain yogurt and an additional egg. I also included 1/4 tsp. salt to help bring out the flavors. I used half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat. These came out great with my revisions. I did like the unusual touch of adding ginger to this recipe. Since I used large muffin tins, it only made 6, but I expected that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These are great!!! After reading other reviews that said they could be dry, I decided to reduce the whole wheat flour to 1.5 cups. The recipe makes a lot of batter- I just filled the muffin tin cups full & it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
These were good, I substituted the oil for 1/8 cup oil and the rest unsweetened applesauce. They still turned out good with less fat. The oatmeal made them a little heavy but they were definitely filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Not sure if I did something wrong, but the muffins were inedible due to a metallic type taste? I wonder if the baking powder amount is too much? 1 tblsp is far more than in other recipes I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I didn't have any baking soda so I used half plain flour and half self raising flour which made them rise beautifully. I also used white sugar though I am sure brown would be better for flavour next time. They seemed a little dry so I'd keep my eye on them at 20 mins baking time rather than the full 25. Lovely muffins thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States