Emily's Famous Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I've been making muffins for quick weekday breakfasts for years now and was looking for something new. These muffins are great! I wasn't sure about the ginger at first. This may sound strange, especially since there is no butter in this recipe, but the mixture of ingredients comes together to give the muffins a rich, deep, almost buttery flavor. I followed the recipe exactly, and the muffins did seem a little dry at first. (If we were to eat them the day they were made, I'd probably add 2 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce, for more moisture.) I tend to refrigerate the muffins, and we eat them over the course of a week. This works really well, since this gives the spices a chance to develop depth of flavor, and the moisture of the bananas develops as well. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Very tasty! I used 1 c whole wheat flour, and then the other 1/2 c was a mix of ap flour, oat bran, and wheat germ. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. My granddaughters will LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Great flavor, easy to make, what else can you ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDMETZNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
These are fabulous! My 10 year old daughter made them but rather than using brown sugar, she used white. They were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PicoChick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pico Rivera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Not sure if I did something wrong, but the muffins were inedible due to a metallic type taste? I wonder if the baking powder amount is too much? 1 tblsp is far more than in other recipes I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Yummy, healthy muffins! The only change I made was doubling the cinnamon in place of the ginger (I'm not a huge fan of it). Great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
These were pretty good, and I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Love the recipe; the muffins turned out great. I read some of the other reviews and used less white flour and 1/2 oil 1/2 applesauce. I loved the texture the oats gave the muffins though... Yum! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
These were good, I substituted the oil for 1/8 cup oil and the rest unsweetened applesauce. They still turned out good with less fat. The oatmeal made them a little heavy but they were definitely filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I made this recipe with one cup white flour instead of any wheat; one cup quick oats instead of slow-cooking; 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup applesauce. It was really good, especially considering the reduction in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States