Emily's Famous Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Pretty good recipe. As one reviewer noted, the recipe more than likely refers to large bananas. I however had regular sized ones, so I upped it to 4. The mix look just a little thick, so I added a splash of milk. The result was a moist bread. If I were to make any adjustments to the recipe, it would be to include some salt. The bread tasted bland and I feel a 1/2 tsp of salt would have perked that up. Easy enough fix. Will certainly make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Joe Jacobs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I thought these were good, and fairly healthy compared to many muffin recipes. I did do half wheat flour and half regular, half applesauce and half canola oil, also subbed in nutmeg for the ginger b/c I am not a fan of ginger. I will probably make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
They're ok, but I suspect that 1 tablespoon of baking powder is too much. I can taste it in the muffin. Batter was thicker than any muffin batter I've ever seen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
These were awesome and I only played around a little (some of it due to availability of ingredients) I used 1 c whole wheat and 1 c regular flour. 1/3 c of brownulated sugar and 1/3 c of Ideal sweetener. I had no veg oil so I used 1/4 c butter flavor Crisco and 1/3 c almond milk. I also upped the cinnamon a bit (loves me some cinnamon) and added a dash of nutmeg and maybe 1/2 a tbsp of agave nectar for fun. They were moist without being dense and my coworkers ADORED them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
After noting the comments that these could be dry, I cut the vegetable oil (I used canola) to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup plain yogurt and an additional egg. I also included 1/4 tsp. salt to help bring out the flavors. I used half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat. These came out great with my revisions. I did like the unusual touch of adding ginger to this recipe. Since I used large muffin tins, it only made 6, but I expected that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These are great!!! After reading other reviews that said they could be dry, I decided to reduce the whole wheat flour to 1.5 cups. The recipe makes a lot of batter- I just filled the muffin tin cups full & it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These are a substantial muffin. I added about 1/4 c of sour cream as the batter seemed a bit thick and added chocolate chips. They are very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made these per the recipe. Adding 1/4 c. crushed pecans and 1/4 c. chopped, dried(mixed) berries. If you store them tightly with a piece of bread they wont get or be dry.Nice healthy snack or breakfast food! My new favorite. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Not sure what I did wrong. I added extra bananas but they were dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
The flavor is great. I substituted 1/2 cup stevia and 1/4 cup splenda brown sugar to reduce the sugar content. I also substituted applesauce for the oil. The muffins were still quite dry as others have mentioned. Next time I would increase the applesauce to 3/4 cup or use 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup plain fat free yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States