Emily's Famous Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I've been using this recipe for quite a while, but without actually having measuring cups and spoons in the house, I felt unqualified to give it a rating since I wasn't sure that my ratios were correct. Anyway, I made it last night, and it turned out really good. However--oops!--I forgot to put in the egg. At first I was worried, but then I just laughed it off a little because I'm allergic to egg anyway. (I'll make a new batch today with egg to give to the people who I was going to give them to and keep this one for me. It's rare that I'm able to enjoy my own baked goods as substitutes are usually more complicated than desired.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Turned out great for me. Only modification was making smaller muffins and only baking 20 mins. Were moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Have made this 3 times now. Love that its a quick recipe to put together and it serves up 12 nice size muffins. Did take one posters advice and only used 1.5 cups flour and added a cup chopped walnuts. Great muffin. Good spices. This is my go to for a quick morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
These JUST came out of the oven and they are great! Subs based on my preferences: used 1c apple sauce instead of oil and 2 bananas, 1 Tbs cinnamon and no ginger, increased vanilla to 1 tsp, increased flour by 1/4 cup to take the extra liquid. Added 1 c raisins and 1 c chopped walnuts. Used small muffin cups and filled almost to the top. Baked for 15 minutes, and they were perfect. Will be making again as they are healthy, easy and delicious! Perfect for breakfast or with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I doubled the powdered ginger because I really wanted the taste to shine. However, I hardly tasted it (and wouldn't have if i hadn't wanted to expect it). It may have also been the 4th banana I added that swallowed up the ginger taste. I will keep 4 bananas in the recipe and add even more ginger to the next batch. Because there were comments on them being dry, I added about a 1/2 cup of yogurt to the batter, and they were moist for several days (refrigerated, of course). Muffins tend to be dryer than the same recipe in bread form, so I often add yogurt to muffin batter. Update: I was in my thoughts the second time I made it and forgot to add yogurt; they ended up very dry. I had to eat them with butter and jam to get them down. Therefore, I made my review a 3 instead of 4. Thanks for the recipe, Emily! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Delicious. I used 2 Costco size bananas that were riped to a wet state..nearly black. I used white and wheat flour with canola oil and organic rolled oats. This was perfect..just delicious..and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I liked these muffins. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and only used 1 1/2 cups wheat flour and used applesauce in the place of the oil, and I subbed splenda for half of the brown sugar. I think next time I will increase the cinnamon and add some nuts. I also only baked them for 20 mins and they turned out very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Robins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
These muffins r excellent w/just a couple of the reviewers recommendations...i have made these twice.the 1st time, I added 1/2 c of sour cream to make more moist. 2nd time, I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup white flour, I subbed 1 quarter cup of the oil for unsweetened applesauce, added 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1 half cup chopped walnuts. no sour cream the second time and texture was perfect! it's a bit too much sugar I think next time I will cut it in half. Will make again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manditrtl10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
simple and wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Made these tonight exactly as recipe is written, wouldn't change a thing. Was awesome hot out of the oven. Only thing I may try is to cut out some oil and add applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States