Emily's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I did use 8 apples, but I bought the bagged ones, not bulk, which are usually smaller. I just put all of the ingredients in a bowl and mixed them together before pouring into the crust. Simple, and it worked. Also added a dash of nutmeg. I used frozen crusts, and for the top, I cut out a quickie flower design while it was still in the pan (6 teardrop shapes, with points toward each other). The cinnamon flavor was a little strong. I may search for ideas to tweak the recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Wonderful pie. Even my "non apple pie" friends loved it. I did mix my apples with the sugar mixture before I put them in the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This was the first time attempting to make a pie and this is the easiest and it tasted great. I used a pie crust recipe from Betty Croker which was really good too. I am not at all an expert on baking, and I am not a pie eater, but this pie was really light and not too sweet. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I CANNOT BAKE, but this recipe makes it seem like I am a PRO - easy, quick, and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTBC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aptos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I made this pie for my family, and it was gone the next day. It is an amazing recipe. Very good and vegan! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Very good and easy. I only used 5 apples. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This is the first homemade pie I ever attempted to make, and the recipe was WONDERFUL. The pie turned out great. I rolled the apple slices in the sugar mixture (instead of sprinkling the mixture onto the apples) in order to make sure I coated all the apples evenly. This was our Thanksgiving dessert, and it received rave reviews! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stargirl3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Very easy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Sorry to say this did not work well for me at all--far, far too dry. Regrettably, I made a lattice top and everything. :( Both husband and I agree it's not one I'll make again. I'm suprised because it was so well reviewed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This is the first time I've ever baked and fortunately chanced upon this simple recipe. The site wisely used this for its step-by-step tutorial; even the crust recipe was superb! As a first-timer, it took me 3hrs to assemble the pies. Of the 15 family members who tasted it, only 3 commented that the cloves was a bit overpowering. Everybody else loved the simple yet hearty apple pie. By the way, the recommended 8pcs of apples were enough to fill up two 8" pie pans. The praises I got were very encouraging -- I'll try something harder next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States