Emily's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This pie is really easy to make, and is delicous! I used 8 apples, as listed, and ended up having enough for two 9-inch pies. For the first pie, I followed the directions exactly and used a store bought crust. It was good, but when I made the second pie I placed the spices and apples in a large bowl to mix, instead of sprinkling the spices over the top of the apples. It was much better, I thought. I also used the Best Ever Pie Crust recipe and made a lattice top, which turned out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This is a simple and good recipe. I would make one suggestion. Try using half Granny Smith and half Gala apples. I have used this combination for years and all who have tried my apple pies seem to like it better than an all Granny Smith apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I find using 2 tbsps more sugar and 1/2 tbsp of cinnamon makes it taste like heaven. And also I found that if you wet the apples a bit, and then coat them in the flour mixture before they go in the pie shell, the apples turn out softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Racheal Leming

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
The idea of pouring dry ingredients on top of apples already in the crust is not a good one. The end taste is too granular. I did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Wonderful pie. Even my "non apple pie" friends loved it. I did mix my apples with the sugar mixture before I put them in the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I substituted nutmeg in for the cloves. Also I would suggest to do 3 layers of apples and sugar mix, instead of 2 layers. By the second layer I had a lot of mix left to pour on top. Its a great recipe for a basic apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
The pie filling turned out great! I didn't use the cloves and only used about a teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I made this pie for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a HUGE hit! The recipe was easy to follow and turned out perfect! I made 1 with a full top crust and 1 with a lattice top. If you make a lattice top, the pie filling tends to dry up a little quicker. I will make this pie over and over again! Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHELLYBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I loved this pie! It was one of the best I've ever tasted and the best I've ever made. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Pie turned out great. The family loves it...I'm gonna grab some whipped cream to eat with it before it's all gone. Made it with crab apples and not the GS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States