Emily's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This pie is really easy to make, and is delicous! I used 8 apples, as listed, and ended up having enough for two 9-inch pies. For the first pie, I followed the directions exactly and used a store bought crust. It was good, but when I made the second pie I placed the spices and apples in a large bowl to mix, instead of sprinkling the spices over the top of the apples. It was much better, I thought. I also used the Best Ever Pie Crust recipe and made a lattice top, which turned out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I substituted nutmeg in for the cloves. Also I would suggest to do 3 layers of apples and sugar mix, instead of 2 layers. By the second layer I had a lot of mix left to pour on top. Its a great recipe for a basic apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
love it!!!! this is the first apple pie that I have ever made and it came out perfect...it really was sooo easy - thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This was my first apple pie! I was so surprised how easy the prep was, and how good it tatsed. My husband said it was even better than his mom's. (shh, don't tell her that). Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Mmmm...this was really, really good! This was my very first pie and it couldn't have been any better, or easier to prepare! I took another reviewer's advice and I mixed the sugar mixture with the apples in a large bowl before pouring them into the pan. My boyfriend actually bragged to his MOM about this pie - I never thought I could compete! Thanks, Emily! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Hats off to Emily. This pie was a raging success with all my friends on Thanksgiving. My only caution is to choose the apples correctly. If the timings right I recomend freshly picked apples. They grow just about everywhere and are most likely free, because as people who have apple trees will tell you they are a mess to clean up off the ground when the seasons about to end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
Used apples from my apple tree in this recipe. Was a hit with everyone in the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This was my first pie ever. It turned out great. One tip that I picked up was that smaller apples taste better than bigger ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I made this apple pie today, and 8 apples were far too many, I only needed 5-6 apples. Also a tablespoon of cinnamon was too much, I suggest only using 1 teaspoon. I did mix all the ingredients into a bowl before putting them in the pie as other reviewers recommended. Baking the apple pie at 350 degrees was too low and my pie required cooking for longer than the recommended 45 minutes. There are better recipes than this one. The Williams Sonoma website has some great recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
MMM...Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States