Emily's Excellent Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Pretty good! I wouldn't really consider this a recipe per se (I'd compare this to a "dump a bunch of convenience items together, heat & serve dish") or agree that it has even a hint of taco taste to it, but it's good nonetheless. I rarely cook on weekdays unless I've prepared a meal beforehand or stumble upon a simple recipe such as this. I literally walked in the door, prepped everything in less than 5 minutes & ate in less than 30! Adding shredded lettuce, chopped tomato / green onion, salsa & sour cream to individual servings pleased both my hubs & myself (we don't like the same toppings). I pretty much followed your mom's directions to a T except for subbing a can of regular Hormel brand chili (i.e. w/ meat / beans) for the vegetarian variety & monterey-jack cheese for cheddar. The 1st substitution is what attracted me to this recipe to begin with - I desperately needed to clean my pantry (my lonely can of chili had been hanging around for too long lol!). All in all, this is a great dish to have on hand for busy evenings or when you just don't feel up to cooking. You can even make it from memory, it's that easy! Thanks for sharing, your mom! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I TRY THIS CASSEROLE BUT CHAGE IT A BIT. IN A BOUL I ADDED REFRIED BEANS PUT IN THE CHILI,CHEESE,SALAS,ONIONS AND MIX WELL IN THE BAKING DISH I CRUSHED CHIPS FOR THE BOTTON THEM ADD THE BEANS TOP IT OFF WITH CHIPS ONIONS AND CHEESE. IT CAME GREAT.EMILY FROM CALIF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Great recipe! Even my picky eater liked it. I added shredded chicken cooked in salsa, frito corn chips and green giant corn medley. All had second servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NrsMimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
this was a very fast, easy recipe to make on a busy evening... and the kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
My kids loved this! I don't consider it a main dish, but I still made it one, hehe. Easy for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is more like "loaded nachos" than a taco casserole. Still tasty, and I'd definitely make it again, but with different expectations, and maybe more as an appetizer or game munchies instead of a dinner main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
My family adores this recipe. I add some scallions on top which look really pretty and taste great. I also serve this with guacamole, sliced red bell peppers, and sliced cucumbers to fill out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I think this needed two cans of chili. Just a personal preference. I liked this recipe. My super-picky child just ate it "deconstructed."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Kind of boring, but very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
After eating this recipe I had to post a comment. It was completely fantastic. My husband and I ate this and could not stop raving. Thank you for such a great, quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States