Emily's Excellent Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This is so quick and yummy and makes an excellent speedy supper. We used Frito's corn chips and nuked individual servings in the microwave. Don't forget the chopped red onions! Thanks Emily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
My family loves this one...we use Amy's Black Bean Chili and blue tortilla chips! So yummy and quick...great for when you have little time to make supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
It tastes very good and is SO easy and fast to make! I added olives and white onions to the toppings...will definitely make this dish again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Way too much salt with the chips and chili, but comfort food nonetheless. I always made this in individual bowls on Halloween for the kids before trick or treating. Heating up the chili and pouring it over crunchy chips, topped with cheese and other things. We prefer our chips to be not so soggy when it is baked. Watch the salt though - between the chips, chili, and cheese there's alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I mix in shredded skinned chicken in big chunks (cooked via Safeway or Cosco) and put a sprig of parsley on top and it is always "A hit" for a group at Potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was gooood! I couldnt find any vegetarian chili so I bought the store brand. The meat was listed near the end of the ingredients. There didnt seem to be a lot of meat present. I used the Tostitos brand bite size tortilla chips. The cooking softens the tortilla chips. I put the shredded lettuce, tomatoes, salsa and sour cream on the table and let every put on what they wanted. The sour cream made it very rich and filling. It could be eliminated, although it was good. Excellent and liked by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I thought this dish was pretty good. It's definitely easy to make and great for a quick supper. I used Tostito's corn chips instead of Frito's. I thought 6 cups of chips seemed like a lot, so I used about 4 cups, crushed. I was able to find the fat-free (also low sodium/no salt added) chili in the health food aisle at my grocery store. Next time, I will also serve this dish with with black olives and guacamole. This dish is a lot like supreme nachos. It would be great for a party -- just spread your chips out on a sheet pan instead of in a 9x9 square, serve lettuce, tomato, and sour cream on the side, and call it nachos supreme! Thanks for sharing Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
My mom used to make us something like this when I was growing up. She would mix a can of corn in with 2 cans of chili, but I do about a half a can of corn and serve the rest on the side. Also, she did the chips on top so that they stay crunchy. After seeing this recipe I made it with the chili on the bottom, some grated cheese on top of that, then the crushed chips and cheese on the very top and served with the taco toppings which was a nice addition that I hadn't done before. Make it how you like it and you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Not really sure why this is called "taco casserole" there is nothing "taco" about it really, it is more like a frito pie. Not anything you would serve company, but nice for a fast meal on a busy week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This is a great recipe.. My husband was really happy. I made salsa from scratch which made it taste even better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States