Emily's Excellent Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
The only reason I am giving this a 4 star rating is because I had to altar the recipe. I only added one can of chili and I substituted 1 lb. of very lean ground beef for the other can. I sprinkled ground beef with 1 tsp. of chili powder, 1/2 teaspoon each of gartic and onion powder while I cooked it. This was very yummy and tasted just like tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is almost like the 7 layer mexican dip but I use canned black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Great, easy, different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PittsburghBlonde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Great vegetarian fast food dish. Seeing as this doesn't keep well, I made a batch for myself. I used 1/3 of a can of veg chili and baked it over the chips for 10 minutes. Topped it with cheese, lettuce and avocado pieces. Super fast and very filling. Will make again. Next time I'll make it with my own home made chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
So easy and good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Interesting. So while I was making this, I was scared and a little disappointed. Then when it was done and I garnished it, and it looked better, I felt okay. Then when I ate some, I almost finished half the pan by myself. I used Hot Chilli with ground beef and Jack Cheese. I dont know if it was because it was flavored with hunger, but it was pretty good. Oh, and I'd call this "Nachos".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
My mom used to make us something like this when I was growing up. She would mix a can of corn in with 2 cans of chili, but I do about a half a can of corn and serve the rest on the side. Also, she did the chips on top so that they stay crunchy. After seeing this recipe I made it with the chili on the bottom, some grated cheese on top of that, then the crushed chips and cheese on the very top and served with the taco toppings which was a nice addition that I hadn't done before. Make it how you like it and you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made this last night and I have to agree with the previous review that it is nothing like a taco casserole but more like a frito pie. It was good though..I will make it on a lazy sunday afternoon from time to time...thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM4TANNER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Loved it! My husband really loved it! I used 3 cans of chili and added sauteed onions, mushrooms, and red and green bell peppers. Super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Tew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My vegetarian daughter loved this recipe. We couldn't find vegetarian chili, but did find an organic meatless chili that worked well. Not a recipe that can be reheated, but a great meal anyway. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States