Emily's Chipotle Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Glory
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
My boyfriend and I made this recipe last night and we LOVED IT!!! We made a few variations: we substituted spicy chicken sausage for pork sausage, fiery roasted tomatoes for plain tomatoes, doubled the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (which I thought would be hard to find, but were at a regular grocery store!), left out the coriander because my boyfriend hates cilantro. It was spicy, smokey and wonderful - huge hit and we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I adjusted the seasonings to suit our taste (threw in a couple of Knorr tomato and chipotle bouillon cubes), and had to add about a cup of water as it was very very thick. This turned out to be one of the best chilis I have ever made. Served it with jalepeno cornbread. Thanks, emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I'm on an obsessed mission to sample as many AR Chili recipes as I can possibly stand (or well, until heartburn catches up to me, or I wipe the bean inventory from my grocery store) and I am So.Very.Glad that I tried this one out tonight! I went heavier on the chipotles, sauteed bell pepper w/ the onion and garlic, and used 2 cans of beans. (What I had on hand ~ Great Northern and Black.) While the end result was a *touch* too thick for my taste-texture (would be perfect over a baked potato or fries though!), I wouldn't change a thing. Really, the chipotles MAKE this chili outstanding and a 5-star keeper in my book! Oh and we ate our's w/ tortilla chips, green onion, and grated cheddar. Already salivating thinking of the leftovers tomorrow ... or tonight if I get a chilitch. e.g. chili itch. Thanks Emily for introducing me to the wonderfulness of using chipotles canned in adobo as a knockout addition to chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
We loved this chili. I did however double the amount of chipotle peppers and sauce because we liked a little more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I have to 5 star this one although I really only used it as a base because it was the only Slow Cooker chile that sounded good so I didn't follow the recipe exact. I made the following variations.. Meat: 1.5lbs 90% lean beef and 1lb ground turkey (we were looking for healthy chile). Dropped the chipotle peppers and only had about 4 tablespoons of chile powder in the pantry so that's all it got. My wife and I are hot food whimps so that was enough for both of us. I also used pre-minced garlic (in oil) since I didn't feel like buying a whole head for 2 cloves. I also only used half an onion because a "large onion" here is HUGE so 1/2 of one was a good cup of onions. I did use the red kidney beans as well. The final product was AWESOME, the combination didn't need any additional water or anything like others have done, but I did use less meat. I realize I took the chipotle out of the Chipotle Chili, but like I said I was really just looking for a good base crock-pot recipe for chile and this more than qualified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I used the entire can of Adobo Peppers, including the sauce. It added quite the kick, but it tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Tasty. Too much meat in my opinion...and I only used 2 of the 3 pounds. Increasing the chipotles is a good idea if you like things a little spicier. Overall thought this recipe was too acidic. Maybe the ratio of the ingredients needs to be adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Fogg
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I thought this was great, however next time I will probably omit entirely the 1tsp of salt - I found it to be quite salty, even though I made sure to use low-sodium ingredients where possible. Overall I thought it was great, but not quite spicy enough with mild italian sausage and 2 adobo peppers. The only other changes I made were instead of using two lbs of meat I opted to use an extra can of black beans as I prefer to lean slightly more to the vegetarian side of things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dieselhippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Loved it. Very good. I added chorizo sausages instead of the Italian and I really like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
We loved this recipe! I only used one pound of ground beef instead of two. I doubled the amount of kidney beans and made them from scratch. I also didn't add the tomato paste at all, the chili was so thick already I couldn't see adding a thickener. I also cut the spices down a bit - I only put 4 tbsp of chili powder and 1/2 tbsp of cumin. Even so I found it very spicy. My husband and I both thought it was great, I think next time I will only use 1/2 lb of ground beef (but I'll still keep the whole pound of sausage), and i'll completely omit the cumin but increase the chipotle peppers to get more of the smoky flavor without increasing the spice too much. All in all a fabulous chili recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States