Emily's Chipotle Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this recipe and have made it several times, always to rave reviews. I have made the recipe as written as well as with all ground beef, ground turkey and ground chicken. Regardless of the type of meat used, it's delicious every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This came out pretty well! I made this recipe with chorizo, ground turkey, and ground beef. I also doubled the chipotle chilis and added some extra adobo sauce. I also added a can of corn, which I think was a great addition! I have a smaller crock pot, so I could not fit all of the chili in my slow cooker. So, I had to cook what couldn't fit in a pot on the stove. I cooked it on low for about 40 minutes. I ate some of it for lunch, and it was delicious! Honestly, I think that the chili that I made on the stove turned out better than the chili I ate 8 hours later from the crock pot! I think some of the chipotle smokiness and the other flavors were too subtle after 8 hours. Next time, I think I will just cook it a little while on the stove. Serve with sharp cheddar, and it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I have made this recipe many times. I have made it with ground beef and pork sausage, beef cubes (for stew) and pork sausage and ground turkey and turkey sausage. It ALWAYS turns out great. I tend to add more chipotles and use black beans instead of kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Really awesome recipe! I used about 3/4lb. of ground turkey to keep it heart healthy. I also used organic carribbean style black beans because they added extra seasoning and flavor. I used a little less chili powder and scraped out the seeds from the chipotle peppers because I have a toddler to keep happy. As I was tasting it while it simmered, I felt like it needed a little sugar to balance out the saltiness from the canned beans. I also added two more cloves of garlic because I love garlic. It's so yummy and everything worked fabulously! Thanks, Emily!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curvalicious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is the best chili that I have ever made! I changed to one pound of beef, but chose to use tenderloin cut into small cubes instead of the ground beef. I used home made hot sausage from our local Brazilian market. I couldn't find the adobo sauce, so I used dried chille chipotle from the Brazilian market. I added the cup of water recommended by my version came out a little runny, so I added a teaspoon of corn meal to thicken it. Emily's recipe is a winner!! I just tweaked it to suite the ingredients that I could buy locally. Can't wait to eat the leftovers! Thank you Emily for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I am giving this recipe 5 stars but I made a LOT of changes. To start I used hot pork sausage and 1lb lean turkey. I added 1tbsp of cayenne, same of garlic powder and onion powder. I also added some sofrito. Then I used about 1/2 can of the chipotle chilis in adobo. It was also too thick so I added a cup of water. I used dried kidney beans as well (soaked them the night before). It is delicious and spicy just the way me and my hubby love it! The depth of flavor is amazing! I am going to decrease how much tomato paste I use though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I thought this was great, however next time I will probably omit entirely the 1tsp of salt - I found it to be quite salty, even though I made sure to use low-sodium ingredients where possible. Overall I thought it was great, but not quite spicy enough with mild italian sausage and 2 adobo peppers. The only other changes I made were instead of using two lbs of meat I opted to use an extra can of black beans as I prefer to lean slightly more to the vegetarian side of things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dieselhippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I loved this but my kids found it too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is so easy to make. Every time I've made it, I've had people who have not liked hot stuff to be the one's whose eaten it the most. If you want a hearty chili with a different but bold flavor. You have got to try this one, the chipotle peppers are fantastic in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I used the entire can of Adobo Peppers, including the sauce. It added quite the kick, but it tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States