Emily's Chipotle Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Had made this earlier this week. Just right to bring in the fall season. It was good & hearty. The peppers really did give it a smoky taste. Only suggestion, I may add another pepper next time. Otherwise my family enjoyed this. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I did not make this in the slow cooker, just on the stove over about a 2 hour period. We don't care for over tomato-y chili's so for personal preference I omitted one of the cans of diced tomatoes and only used an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and added 3 cups of chicken stock. I upped all the seasoning some but added some cayenne as well for extra heat. Definitely could double the chipotle's as I hardly tasted them. Topped mine with onions, cilantro and Mexican cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Way too heavy on the tomato flavor for us. Would try again minus the tomato paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I added brown sugar, cinnamon to taste, California peppers, and arbol peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is my FAVORITE chili recipe. It's perfect the way it is, but I do like to change it up every now and then. I like to use 1 lb of smoked turkey sausage (cut into tiny pieces) instead of the Italian sausage- that is my effort at making it healthy :) plus, it really does add a little extra texture in there that we enjoy. I use all of the chipotle peppers from a 7 oz can and then add the adobo sauce to the mix. I like to use black beans instead of kidney beans (and I think I usually add 2 cans.) We love garlic so I always add extra cloves. Next time I make it I'm going to add a chopped green pepper. I've used different seasonings each time, but you can do that with this recipe and it's not going to ruin the flavors. I follow the first step by cooking the meat, draining it and adding the spices, onion and garlic, but then I go ahead and put that mixture in the crock pot and add all the other ingredients (except tomato paste) and it works out perfectly. I just don't have the coordination to cleanly pour everything from the Lg. pot to the crock pot. I sometimes cheat and do step 1 the night before and refrigerate the meat mixture so I can get up the next morning and just throw everything together and start cooking it before going to work. This is a wonderful recipe if you aren't looking for standard chili. Thanks, Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was only OK. I had some leftover chipotles in adobo sauce and was looking for a recipe to use them up. I added extra chipotle and the finished product still wasn't very hot. It's an average chili but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This is perfect chili. Not fancy or "unique"... just perfectly delicious chili. It's great by itself or with sweet cornbread. I didn't change anything in the recipe, but I eyeball my spices so who knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We've made this several times, only substituting black beans for the kidney beans. A hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Great recipe, we do ours in the Crock all day.. Great for a change of the normal chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I actually combined this with the Slow Cooker Chili II recipe, and decided I would rate both. While I didn't add the sausage, it was the addition of the chiptoles in adobo sauce that made my chili perfect. I'm used to bland recipes for homemade chili and this was the complete opposite. Thank you for sharing. I topped with dumplings, because well, why not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States