Emergency Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
LOL...I always use this recipe....hotdog bread or hamburger bread as they call it... when my grandchildren come over. They love taking turns toasting their own garlic bread in the toaster oven....and adding their own special ingredients....we fix garlic seasoning in butter with onion flakes, parsley flakes, garlic flakes, and organio. Spreading with different cheeses each one has their own little bowl. And to cut down on clean up we use clean bathroom drinking cups or styrofoam coffee cups. They LOVE it. Its a SPECIAL treat at MAW MAW's HOUSE. Grandmothers take time to make memories with your grandchildren...It may not be top notch but who care with grandchildren around....they come first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
LOL, I thought I was the only one who did this. I've used hamburger buns as well. I use garlic bread sprinkle instead of garlic powder and also sprinkle a little italian seasoning or oregano on top and parmesan cheese. The parmesan takes on a wonderful flavor when it gets toasted. Not quite the same as french bread, sourdough, or italian bread but much much better than garlic toast made with sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I do agree, it's good for an extreme emergency. But, contrary to your comment: YES, I really did note the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
My hubby and I have been doing this for years. He loves hotdogs and so I seem to always have left over buns that are ready to go stale. I've even put them into the regular toaster, spread margarine, sprinkled garlic powder and italian seasoning and just eat it alone. (Snack time!)You get the five stars cuz your right, this is totally "emergency" garlic bread. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I noticed the difference too, although not drastically enough to cut down the score so badly. Still pretty decent stuff, and definitely easy. I tend to like cooking things like this until barely "golden" but this seemed to work better cooking a bit beyond that, though burns easily. I also tried throwing them in the toaster oven on "toast" for just a short time before broiling, which gave a bit more crispiness to the bottom sides, which helped since hot dogs buns are so much softer than French bread. I don't think I'd want to try to fool guests with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Ha! I've made this several times before I even knew this was a "recipe" on here. I also add parmesan cheese and italian seasoning. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I gave this a 5 star because it is exactly what it is..."emergency garlic bread" that tastes great! I actually have done this before and the recipe here was a delightful reminder. You can put all your favorite toppings and with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I love that the domestic arts are still alive and well! My mom taught me this trick to use left over hot dog buns. I use it to this day. Sometimes I'll sprinkle them with left over shredded cheeses too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I made this out of some leftover hot dog rolls. Then I used it to make chicken salad (for me) and tuna fish (for my husband) sandwiches. It was a delicious addition to the sandwiches, although I do have to admit that it's no substitute for garlic bread made from a good french loaf. It was perfect for sandwiches, though! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I have been making these for a long time. There are only two of us and always have hot dog or hamburger bun getting stale. I also put some parm. cheese on the top before toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Klynstra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States