Emergency Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Easy quick and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Fast and easy! Just what we were looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wahoo, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I do agree, it's good for an extreme emergency. But, contrary to your comment: YES, I really did note the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I have been making these for a long time. There are only two of us and always have hot dog or hamburger bun getting stale. I also put some parm. cheese on the top before toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Klynstra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I noticed the difference too, although not drastically enough to cut down the score so badly. Still pretty decent stuff, and definitely easy. I tend to like cooking things like this until barely "golden" but this seemed to work better cooking a bit beyond that, though burns easily. I also tried throwing them in the toaster oven on "toast" for just a short time before broiling, which gave a bit more crispiness to the bottom sides, which helped since hot dogs buns are so much softer than French bread. I don't think I'd want to try to fool guests with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I made this out of some leftover hot dog rolls. Then I used it to make chicken salad (for me) and tuna fish (for my husband) sandwiches. It was a delicious addition to the sandwiches, although I do have to admit that it's no substitute for garlic bread made from a good french loaf. It was perfect for sandwiches, though! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I gave this a 5 star because it is exactly what it is..."emergency garlic bread" that tastes great! I actually have done this before and the recipe here was a delightful reminder. You can put all your favorite toppings and with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This recipe definitely works well in an eergency. My family likes for me to add parsley flakes and parmesan cheese to the mix to add color and a bit of extra flavor. Using potato hot dog buns, or hamburger buns really taste well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This is alright for a hurry. Probably won't make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I never would of thought to use hot dog buns for garlic bread; great idea! It works if you have leftover buns (which I always seem to). They don't taste as good as french bread does but they definitely work in an emergency situation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States