Emergency Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe since I had a craving for garlic bread but only had white sandwhich bread! I luckily had steak rolls and decided to try this recipe. I didn't exactly follow the ingredients, just doing it by eye. It did take longer than for minutes, mostly 'cause I didn't know if I should've set my broiler for low or high! I decided to be safe and went with high. It is good when you're in a pinch! It tastes delish and I had it with eggs. However, I put a little less garlic at first so had to add more and stick it in the broiler again. It came out crispy, just the way I like it! Overall, this recipe is great, especially if you cook often or have used a broiler. I am a terrible cook and have only used a broiler once, so I had just a bit of trouble. I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was ok but I won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I love this recipe simply because I personally look up recipes online when it is an emergency and I have to make do with what I have. It is very hard to find basic, simple, and easy recipes like this one in a crunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB Booker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
These taste great, and they're so easy to make as an afterthought. I just throw mine in the oven with whatever entree I'm making and adjust the cooking time. Extra delicious when sprinled with herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
LOL my mom taught me this years ago when we would have left over rolls! Works great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I'd never thought of this, and I often have hot dog buns on hand. I have made "real" garlic bread recipes, and they're much nicer, but this was pretty decent. I ate the whole batch with dinner! When I made this, I used up a bottle of garlic powder, and it amounted to slightly less than 2 teaspoons - I would've liked quite a bit more. And for the butter, I used 2 tablespoons, more than the recipe mentioned. In my case, the hot dog buns were a softer bread than the garlic breads I'm used to, but that was okay. I guess I'll keep this in mind for occasional impromptu dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Even if my guests could tell the bread was different from usual french bread, they didn't care! I could only find kaiser rolls as a viable option and I made garlic butter (from AR) using Earth Balance spread. Four minutes was way too long in my broiler; I would suggest keeping an eye on them from two minutes on. Much cheaper than the freezer and probably even a bit healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Have used this since I was a bride 53 yrs ago. However, I learned to melt butter and add garlic powder, then just dip cut side of hot dog bun and place on a cookie rack on a raised cookie sheet. Bottom gets a bit crusty also. Dipping gets more butter on evenly. I will try parsley and maybe parm cheese this time. Having Lasagna Christmas Dinner 2013.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Blue Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
It wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara Kapes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
My Mom always made it this way or hamburger buns work also its DELISH!!!!! We sprinkle parm over the top also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States