Emergency Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I too, have been doing this for years. It's a great way to use up leftover hot dog, hamburger or sausage buns. A little italian seasoning and some shredded mozzarella will fancy it up too. We often put them on a cookie sheet and toast on the top rack of the BBQ for 5-8 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I grew up with this as "garlic bread," only my mom would diagonally slice a loaf of French bread, then butter each cut and then sprinkle in garlic powder. She then rolled it in foil and baked it for a while. It's the best! I prefer it over spicy, gloppy garlic bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I have made my garlic bread this way for years. The only thing I add is "Salad Supreme" sprinkled on top. It makes a great tasting garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Any type of roll or bread product will do in a pinch. I use anything from hot dog and hamburger rolls to sub rolls, water rolls, you name it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Hot Dog Bun Garlic Bread is the ONLY kind my grandsons will eat. I can make home made bread, bake the frozen stuff, buy good bread or use the pre-fab stuff from the store, all that is a No Go to all of 5 them. Somehow, the slightly sweet taste of the HDB's goes great with butter and garlic. [...what am I saying...who am I kidding....I'd eat the dog, or one of my pet goats, if it had garlic and butter spread on it!!!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I have made garlic bread with hot dog buns many times. I use Garlic Bread Spread and toasted in the toaster oven and then have added Mozzarala cheese and Provolone cheese. Stick in the broiler to melt and brown the cheese. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I also have been doing this for years and Sara Jo is right, any kind of bread or bun will do. My families favorite (besides Garlic Bread) is when I do this with Bagels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kevinandterry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Currituck, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Garlic bread emergencies happen with shocking regularity in our home and this recipe is my 911 solution. I make it exactly as written (I know! Who does that?) with a really loose interpretation of "as needed" and although it is easy to tell the difference between this and Italian bread, it is still quite delicious. Besides, I can only use so many breadcrumbs or make so many burgers, dogs, bun tacos and sloppy Joes. This recipe wins on 3 fronts - it's fast (10 minutes) and easy (3 ingredients), it uses up leftovers, and it's delicious. If that's not worth 5 stars, nothing is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Easy and very good! Watch the time very carefully because even 1 minute can make a difference. I used my stove's broiler (don't have a toaster oven) and had to throw out my first batch because they burned. :( I used hamburger buns and even went out to get more just to try these again! I added parmesan cheese on a few, but I think I prefer them without it. Thanks for the great recipe CANDYLAND7! UPDATE 2/15: Following another reviewer's suggestion, I just toasted the hamburger roll in my regular toaster. After it toasted, I buttered it, sprinkled with garlic powder and parmesan cheese. In a pinch, this works great (actually it didn't burn like my in my broiler and no heating up the stove)! Great tasting and good for a snack, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I've done this for many years, in fact when I was a kid the school cafeteria served their garlic bread like this with their spaghetti lunch. I add cheeses, garlic, even parsley occasionally to be fancy lol. The kids & hubby love it lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States