Emergency Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was ok but I won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I love this recipe simply because I personally look up recipes online when it is an emergency and I have to make do with what I have. It is very hard to find basic, simple, and easy recipes like this one in a crunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB Booker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
These taste great, and they're so easy to make as an afterthought. I just throw mine in the oven with whatever entree I'm making and adjust the cooking time. Extra delicious when sprinled with herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
LOL my mom taught me this years ago when we would have left over rolls! Works great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I'd never thought of this, and I often have hot dog buns on hand. I have made "real" garlic bread recipes, and they're much nicer, but this was pretty decent. I ate the whole batch with dinner! When I made this, I used up a bottle of garlic powder, and it amounted to slightly less than 2 teaspoons - I would've liked quite a bit more. And for the butter, I used 2 tablespoons, more than the recipe mentioned. In my case, the hot dog buns were a softer bread than the garlic breads I'm used to, but that was okay. I guess I'll keep this in mind for occasional impromptu dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Even if my guests could tell the bread was different from usual french bread, they didn't care! I could only find kaiser rolls as a viable option and I made garlic butter (from AR) using Earth Balance spread. Four minutes was way too long in my broiler; I would suggest keeping an eye on them from two minutes on. Much cheaper than the freezer and probably even a bit healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Have used this since I was a bride 53 yrs ago. However, I learned to melt butter and add garlic powder, then just dip cut side of hot dog bun and place on a cookie rack on a raised cookie sheet. Bottom gets a bit crusty also. Dipping gets more butter on evenly. I will try parsley and maybe parm cheese this time. Having Lasagna Christmas Dinner 2013.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Blue Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
It wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara Kapes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
My Mom always made it this way or hamburger buns work also its DELISH!!!!! We sprinkle parm over the top also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
very good for what it is - garlic bread in a pinch. no its not going to be the best you ever had, but if you need it quick & easy here you go. i made it w ciabatta bread i had on hand and it worked great. i bet a nice addition would be some parmesan. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wschris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States