Emergency Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I'd never thought of this, and I often have hot dog buns on hand. I have made "real" garlic bread recipes, and they're much nicer, but this was pretty decent. I ate the whole batch with dinner! When I made this, I used up a bottle of garlic powder, and it amounted to slightly less than 2 teaspoons - I would've liked quite a bit more. And for the butter, I used 2 tablespoons, more than the recipe mentioned. In my case, the hot dog buns were a softer bread than the garlic breads I'm used to, but that was okay. I guess I'll keep this in mind for occasional impromptu dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Even if my guests could tell the bread was different from usual french bread, they didn't care! I could only find kaiser rolls as a viable option and I made garlic butter (from AR) using Earth Balance spread. Four minutes was way too long in my broiler; I would suggest keeping an eye on them from two minutes on. Much cheaper than the freezer and probably even a bit healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Have used this since I was a bride 53 yrs ago. However, I learned to melt butter and add garlic powder, then just dip cut side of hot dog bun and place on a cookie rack on a raised cookie sheet. Bottom gets a bit crusty also. Dipping gets more butter on evenly. I will try parsley and maybe parm cheese this time. Having Lasagna Christmas Dinner 2013.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Blue Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
It wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
My Mom always made it this way or hamburger buns work also its DELISH!!!!! We sprinkle parm over the top also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
very good for what it is - garlic bread in a pinch. no its not going to be the best you ever had, but if you need it quick & easy here you go. i made it w ciabatta bread i had on hand and it worked great. i bet a nice addition would be some parmesan. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wschris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I make garlic bread this way a lot of times. Whenever I have extra hot dog or hamburger buns. Works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is fine in a pinch. Not terrible, but I knew the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I have done this; it is just Ok, fresh garlic would have been 3 stars. I also try not to buy the cheep hot dog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States