Emerald Green Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by KiwiOz0708
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Made this for friends and they loved it!! A few changes i made based on what i already had. i used barley instead of the rice bc i have had it around for so long, i wanted to finally use it. I also had regular snap peas/pea pods, whatever they are called rather than sugar snap peas. I added carrots instead of green beans just bc i didnt any beans, otherwise, i would have added them. I used lower sodium broth as well. Tasted delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiwiOz0708

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Awesome !! due to veggies in the house, did not use celery or snap peas but used asperagus. I don't think it matters. A great risotto for veggies. Highly recommend !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Loved it!!! Be careful - don't add the veggies too soon - they will lose their emerald color and soggy and unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Absolutely Delish! I live in a Uni Hall and this was a hit! Everyone can eat it gluten free, meat free and filling after a long hot day. You can add whatever veggies you want I added some carrot and cauliflower instead of celery. Thanks for possting a healthy risotto now I knwo what to do with all that arborio I accidentally bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Great - very healthy, packed with green veggies, but doesn't taste like health food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I was going to give this 3 stars because it was sooooo bland, but I realized since I gobbled it up it couldn't have been that bad. I think the problem was I used low-sodium Trader Joe's chicken broth, which I recently read scored lowest on a taste test. If I make this again I'll definitely upgrade brands (homemade would be best, but I won't kid myself into thinking that will ever happen). Slight changes I made were grinding in a whole lot of pepper (a failed attempt to inject some flavor), using carrots and doubling the broccoli in lieu of peas and beans, and parm instead of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by risa
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
It was my first time making risotto, but this was very easy and really delicious! I put in whatever vegetables I had-- the crunchiness of the celery and green beans was wonderful! I didn't have arborio rice, so I just used the regular short grain Japanese rice that we have around, and that worked fine for me. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
My partner and I both thought this was delicious! It turned out great even though this was my first time making risotto. I used a soup pot and made a double batch. This increased the cooking time by 15 minutes. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly! I love feta but would be interested to try Parmesan. The pea pods and beans were not as tender as the broccoli and zucchini so I could see steaming them a bit. They were perfect for us! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Wonderful! Make sure to use fresh veggies, as frozen ones add lots of water (and you want to maintain the temperature of the rice). As it is, the veggies come out crisp, so if you prefer them a little more cooked, it may be wise to throw them in a steamer for 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Seriously this dish is divine!! I followed the recipe pretty closely, omitted the beans and added mushrooms also used Veggie stock instead of the chicken. When I cook my boyfriend usually says, it could have done with some of this... or it needs this... For the first time he said - it doesn't need a thing!! YUM. Would highly recommend this. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States