Emerald Green Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Great starter recipe. Use your imagination and add different vegetables/meat/fish/shell fish etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was quite good. However, the amount of broth seemed a bit in excess of what I needed; I ended up having to strain the last cup or so of liquid out to avoid the rice getting mushy. Also, although I normally love zucchini, it got a bit bitter in this recipe. I also pre-steamed the green beans a bit, which was probably a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KiwiOz0708
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Made this for friends and they loved it!! A few changes i made based on what i already had. i used barley instead of the rice bc i have had it around for so long, i wanted to finally use it. I also had regular snap peas/pea pods, whatever they are called rather than sugar snap peas. I added carrots instead of green beans just bc i didnt any beans, otherwise, i would have added them. I used lower sodium broth as well. Tasted delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiwiOz0708

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Awesome !! due to veggies in the house, did not use celery or snap peas but used asperagus. I don't think it matters. A great risotto for veggies. Highly recommend !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Loved it!!! Be careful - don't add the veggies too soon - they will lose their emerald color and soggy and unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Absolutely Delish! I live in a Uni Hall and this was a hit! Everyone can eat it gluten free, meat free and filling after a long hot day. You can add whatever veggies you want I added some carrot and cauliflower instead of celery. Thanks for possting a healthy risotto now I knwo what to do with all that arborio I accidentally bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Great - very healthy, packed with green veggies, but doesn't taste like health food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I was going to give this 3 stars because it was sooooo bland, but I realized since I gobbled it up it couldn't have been that bad. I think the problem was I used low-sodium Trader Joe's chicken broth, which I recently read scored lowest on a taste test. If I make this again I'll definitely upgrade brands (homemade would be best, but I won't kid myself into thinking that will ever happen). Slight changes I made were grinding in a whole lot of pepper (a failed attempt to inject some flavor), using carrots and doubling the broccoli in lieu of peas and beans, and parm instead of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by risa
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
It was my first time making risotto, but this was very easy and really delicious! I put in whatever vegetables I had-- the crunchiness of the celery and green beans was wonderful! I didn't have arborio rice, so I just used the regular short grain Japanese rice that we have around, and that worked fine for me. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
My partner and I both thought this was delicious! It turned out great even though this was my first time making risotto. I used a soup pot and made a double batch. This increased the cooking time by 15 minutes. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly! I love feta but would be interested to try Parmesan. The pea pods and beans were not as tender as the broccoli and zucchini so I could see steaming them a bit. They were perfect for us! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States