Embarrassingly Easy Barbecue Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Don't insult Texas like that. Actually, the idea is nice and easy, but to add more of a bbq flavor, add onion powder, little bit of tabasco, squirt of mustard and salt and pepper the chicken just a little before baking and putting in the pan. There is too much sauce too - you could cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I changed this recipe and it turned out great! I used regular cola and bbq sauce instead of ketchup. First I soaked the chicken over night in the coke. the next day we threw it on the grill and smothered it with lemon pepper, salt, and bbq sauce. Fantastic I also use this for ribs. I precook the ribs in a slow cooker covered in coke for 6 hours the throw them on the grill with bbq sauce. Heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Yes, this is very easy, but it's also pretty bland. I added garlic, worcestershire, liquid smoke and vinegar. The chicken itself is bland and the sauce is not thick at all. I am reducing the sauce on the stove, but I'm not sure I'd make this again. It doesn't taste bad, it's just not super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I made this dish several times and it was a big hit. I added a few more ingredients. You MUST clean and season your chicken, without the seasonings it will be bland. Also instead of regular Diet Coke I used Diet Cherry Coke, it made a big difference....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Im sorry but I tried this because of a similar recipe I have for Steak tips but this was not good to my family at all! I use 1 Cup each of Ketchup, Coke and Brown sugarand mix along with the small bottle of Italian Dressing. I marinate overnite if not 24 hours and it ALWAYS gets rave reviews (even though it sounds odd) the meat is always so tender it could almost melt in your mouth! Try that for a yummy change :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This recipe needs to be tweaked. I use this recipe for a catering , and everyone loves it. The best way to make this is one can of warm coke, heinz catsup, start with equal amounts then to taste, simmer for about a half and hour and stir so it won't burn. Let it sit in the frig overnight and it will thicken it up. By putting it in the frig the catsup and coke mesh really well, sometimes I add mushrooms and onions, it is excellent. It is great with Patty LaBelles macaroni and cheese. Beware of calories great, comfort food. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Embarassing is right. I have tasted my fare share of bbq, while growing up in TX, and never have I tasted bbq with so little flavor....wouldnt really even call it bbq, just chicken and ketchup...not good. Anyone who thinks this is good BBQ has def. never had real BBQ. Sorry to sound harsh but its the truth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
The "texas families" who love this recipe must not really be from Texas...'cause we KNOW good BBQ...and this ain't it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Embarassingly embarassing you mean. This recipe was awful. We ended up eating a couple bites and then ordering out for pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heretic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This got a two because of ease. I'm from Texas and we did not love it at all. This is sweetened ketchup not BBQ. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States