Embarrassingly Easy Barbecue Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This recipe needs to be tweaked. I use this recipe for a catering , and everyone loves it. The best way to make this is one can of warm coke, heinz catsup, start with equal amounts then to taste, simmer for about a half and hour and stir so it won't burn. Let it sit in the frig overnight and it will thicken it up. By putting it in the frig the catsup and coke mesh really well, sometimes I add mushrooms and onions, it is excellent. It is great with Patty LaBelles macaroni and cheese. Beware of calories great, comfort food. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
My Family loved this. No left-overs tonight :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I made this dish several times and it was a big hit. I added a few more ingredients. You MUST clean and season your chicken, without the seasonings it will be bland. Also instead of regular Diet Coke I used Diet Cherry Coke, it made a big difference....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
I made this recipe with a can of diet cola, ketchup and chicken breast tenderloins. It is SO easy and really quite good. Not a gourmet dish, I admit, but tasty for a quick and low fat, low calorie (that is if you use the diet cola) dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This recipe turned out surprisingly well. The sauce is not exactly a BBQ type, it's more of a tomatoey type of taste, but it's pretty good nevertheless. My husband absolutely loved it. I was a little less enthusiastic, but I still found it to be worthwhile - and definitely an easy meal to make. Will serve it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I changed this recipe and it turned out great! I used regular cola and bbq sauce instead of ketchup. First I soaked the chicken over night in the coke. the next day we threw it on the grill and smothered it with lemon pepper, salt, and bbq sauce. Fantastic I also use this for ribs. I precook the ribs in a slow cooker covered in coke for 6 hours the throw them on the grill with bbq sauce. Heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Yes, this is very easy, but it's also pretty bland. I added garlic, worcestershire, liquid smoke and vinegar. The chicken itself is bland and the sauce is not thick at all. I am reducing the sauce on the stove, but I'm not sure I'd make this again. It doesn't taste bad, it's just not super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Don't insult Texas like that. Actually, the idea is nice and easy, but to add more of a bbq flavor, add onion powder, little bit of tabasco, squirt of mustard and salt and pepper the chicken just a little before baking and putting in the pan. There is too much sauce too - you could cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
This was a very very easy recipe -- and while it was a bit sweet, the kids certainly enjoyed it. If you like your BBQ sweet rather than tangy, try it. I also found there wasn't a lot of heartburn complaints after my family ate this chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This got a two because of ease. I'm from Texas and we did not love it at all. This is sweetened ketchup not BBQ. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States