Embarrassingly Easy Barbecue Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
I'm sorry, my family thought this recipe was terrible and I threw away all of the leftover chicken. It was easy but had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2000
Only a "kid" would love it. The only similarity to barbecue chicken is the color. "Families in Texas love it." Well, we here in Pennsylvania love the real taste of barbecue, not imitation flavor. Would not serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This recipe needs to be tweaked. I use this recipe for a catering , and everyone loves it. The best way to make this is one can of warm coke, heinz catsup, start with equal amounts then to taste, simmer for about a half and hour and stir so it won't burn. Let it sit in the frig overnight and it will thicken it up. By putting it in the frig the catsup and coke mesh really well, sometimes I add mushrooms and onions, it is excellent. It is great with Patty LaBelles macaroni and cheese. Beware of calories great, comfort food. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
I do not recomend this recipe. It tastes like over sweetened Ketchup! We BBQ alot and this does not resemble BBQ chicken at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I've tried this recipe three times. The first time I used diet Pepsi and ketchup. It came out grossly sweet and I threw it away. A friend told me to be sure to use Diet Coke, so the second time I did. It was very blah; tasted like sweet ketchup to me but I thought it could have potential. So the third time I tried to liven it up with 2 cloves garlic, 1/2 a minced onion, 1/2 a minced green pepper, white pepper, and a dash of worstershire sauce. The additions actually made it worse. I'm sorry, but this absolutely didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This recipe turned out surprisingly well. The sauce is not exactly a BBQ type, it's more of a tomatoey type of taste, but it's pretty good nevertheless. My husband absolutely loved it. I was a little less enthusiastic, but I still found it to be worthwhile - and definitely an easy meal to make. Will serve it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
The "texas families" who love this recipe must not really be from Texas...'cause we KNOW good BBQ...and this ain't it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Embarassingly embarassing you mean. This recipe was awful. We ended up eating a couple bites and then ordering out for pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heretic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
I made this recipe with a can of diet cola, ketchup and chicken breast tenderloins. It is SO easy and really quite good. Not a gourmet dish, I admit, but tasty for a quick and low fat, low calorie (that is if you use the diet cola) dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
This was a very very easy recipe -- and while it was a bit sweet, the kids certainly enjoyed it. If you like your BBQ sweet rather than tangy, try it. I also found there wasn't a lot of heartburn complaints after my family ate this chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States