Em and Nic's Apple Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
What a great idea - apples, raisins, cinnamon and CHICKEN! Who knew? Husband LOVED it. I made changes - simplified it (no curry/spices) and marinated chicken in apple juice for 1/2 hour before cooking. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
The kids ate it, which is really saying something. I found it to be very mild, and lacking a little flavor. I still found it to be very good. Unlike other reviewers, I did not find this recipe overly sweet. Stay away if you don't like curry. It's mild, but the flavor is definately there. five stars for the fact that it's a quick, easy, healthy meal that both kids an adults will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess Botelho
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I thought it was delicious! I added some sugar snap peas and served it over rice. I simmered it for a little while to let the sauce thicken and absorb more of the flavor. Might use a little less apple juice next time as it was still a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John
Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I liked this recipe. My family did not. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
The sauce is excellent, but I will agree with the other reviewers who thought that the chicken itself lacked flavor. Not sure if I should cook it slower next time or marinade it in the sauce before hand. That being said, the sauce is delicious it's just that the chicken needs to absorb more of the flavor. Also, I might try this over some jasmine rice or couscous next time to bind everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Not very flavorful, but has some potential. Going to try to bake this dish instead to get the flavors more firmly rooted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshAbs
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
My apple flavor came from actual apples instead of the apple juice, and I used chicken stock instead. Still the spices were great. Added corn starch to thicken the juice and served on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshAbs
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was fantastic!!! Like another reader, I added fresh peeled apples for more texture. I also added walnuts for a bit of crunch. I found it a little heavy on the cinnamon, so I'll use a little less next time. Definitely a "make again"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I also tweaked a little. Sauted onions with the apple and then added the juice and seasonings. Also added a bit of red pepper flakes to spice it up for my hubby. It was great and will definetly be making this again! ps my little boy liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Great recipe. Loved how the spices made a coating on the chicken pieces. We tossed the remaining sauce with pasta - a repeater for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States