Elvis Smoothie (Almond and Banana) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
LOVED THIS SMOOTHIE. There's nothing I would change. Absolutely delicious--my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was much better than I expected. The key to this drink is the frozen sliced banana. It gives it that melted vanilla ice cream flavor. In my vitamix, I turned it to variable speed 10 and then about 45 seconds on high. I made a 1/2 a recipe and got one large serving. So, the actual recipe is 2 servings, and not 1, which explains the high calorie count. I have to agree with the other reviewer, that said this is filling. To me that is a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I'm not a huge fan of smoothies because they don't fill me up but this one was great. The protein from the almond butter made me not miss eating a real meal. I may increase the almond butter next time to balance out the banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I halved the recipe for my breakfast this morning and found it to be refreshing and filling. I used an overly ripe banana I had in the freezer, so it was plenty sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
My daughter volunteers at the smoothie bar at church and is always looking for a good smoothie great enough for our church members. I (mom) talked her into making this one - sounded good- we went and bought the almond butter special for this. We were totally disappointed in this smoothie. You can hardly taste the almond butter, so could have probably used peanut butter and saved some money. Members said they could not taste it either and that it tasted like peanut butter. Just a normal smoothie to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
The only good thing about this drink was the bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellTell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Flavour is really good. I added ground almonds instead of almond butter to get more flavour. I also subtituted lactose free milk for my intolerence and cut the amount of milk in half to match my diet. I also did find that I didn't really like the texture. The banana ended up being pretty mushy for the amount of liquid. Instead of adding vanilla extract, add vanilla whey protein powder for a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is dessert it's amazing. Who needs a milkshake, not me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Great smoothie. I have tried it a few times, and adapted based on my needs/what I had available. I subbed in dairy-free milk (almond and cashew), and used peanut butter once. I even threw in some spinach to make it a green smoothie one time. All variations have been delicious. Next to try - bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
My rating for this recipe is for as it is written. Please read on...This smoothie recipe is the 1st I've tried. Ever. Followed the recipe as written but was disappointed...my tastebuds were bored. Back onto the blender I added almond extract and addl almond butter. Still boring. Back onto the blender again. This time I added some chocolate hazelnut spread. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibbyAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States