Elvis Presley Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
In light of the mixed reviews of this recipe, a word of caution that my review is based on the changes I made to this recipe. I really wanted it to work, not only for myself but for others who might want to try it, and I believed it definitely had potential in spite of its problems, mainly that 2 cups of sugar to an 8-oz. can of pineapple is just simply far too much. I made this as a 3-layer cake, using the cake mix called for (I used French Vanilla) and a Cake Mix Extender recipe from another web site. Turned out moist, tall, and delicious. For the filling I heated a 20 oz. can of pineapple with just 1/3 cup sugar and 2 T. cornstarch till thickened, then swirled in 2 T. butter to make it silky and rich--again, perfect. Delicious and just the right amount of sweetness. Because of the size of the cake I made, and because I added some decoration, I made a double recipe of the frosting. I decorated the finished cake with sliced almonds, maraschino cherries and wedges of dried pineapple. All I gotta say is, Elvis would be proud this is his namesake. This is one, fine cake, and a real show stopper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
This is the first time that I've written a review, but the cake turned out so awesome, that I had to share. I used the 20 oz. can of pineapple with juice with a scant one cup of sugar. Honestly, you could get away with a half to 3/4 cup--but I wonder if it would make enough "juice"? With the cup of sugar, it was still very sweet. THEN-I took a big meat fork and covered the cake with holes-a very important step, I think. Now, apply pineapple liberally. Those steps where suggestions from other reviewers. I changed the frosting to a POUND of cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, a running-over teaspoon of vanilla, and only 2 cups of powdered sugar. I really like cream cheese frosting, obviously. I used all but one cup of it--I just couldn't bring myself to use all of it! Don't mix the pecans into the frosting--it will tear up your cake. TOAST your pecans and sprinkle them on top. Put it in the fridge and serve cold. Yum, yum, yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAFLUTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
What a wonderful cake - there was nothing left of it to bring home. However, I made some changes after reading previous reviews. Here is what I did. I used a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple, this gave a better covering of the caked. I also used just 3/4 cup of sugar to cooked the pineapple in. 2c. sugar is unnecessary. All you want the sugar to do is to more or less cook the pineapple down and give it a glaze. Then I used a slotted spoon to drain the liquid off as I was spreading it on the cake. Doing this will still give you the necessary moisture. I also sprinkled the nuts on top of the frosting instead as per instrustions, this gave it a nice appearance. Will I make it again? YOU BET ON IT! It had my husband howling with delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
I made this cake for my husband's birthday dinner because he can't tolerate anything chocolate in the evening. It's not a bad cake, but it's VERY sweet...a diabetic coma in one piece! Even my kids thought so. The next time I make this, I'm going to add the nuts in with the pinapple/sugar mixture and frost the cake with a fluffy white icing or use less sugar and more juice in the pineapple/sugar mixture to see if I can tone it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
Great cake and really simple! I followed some of the other suggestions and doubled the pineapple (but didn't use all of the juice) and used 1.5 cups of sugar. I took it to a get together and everyone raved about it. I thought that it was even better after being in the refrigerator overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Very easy to make, but it's TOO sweet! My hubby loves all types of sweets and even he said it was too much. I think the icing is fine so it must be the white sugar that should be reduced by at least half (IF I were to make this again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This cake is wonderful. It would be perfect served at a bridal shower. I poked holes in the cake before pouring the pineapple on top. It makes the liquid absorb into the cake better. Thanks for this great cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I needed to make an additional comment. Previously I noted that you needed to scale back the sugar to 1 cup. You also need to poke holes in the cake while it is hot and pour the pineapple mixture over the still warm cake. Do Not drain off the juice. You want it to soak into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Grove, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I don't know how anyone could stand this cake as sweet as it could be with as much sugar the recipe calls for. I used almost 3 cups confectioner's sugar for the frosting (which was good), and 1 cup for the pineapple mixture (of which I used a 20 ounce can per other reviewers- but I don't think it needed the sugar, and the juice needs to be drained- makes the cake too soggy). I ground up the pecans in my food processor and mixed them in with the frosting and then sprinkled a little on top of the finished cake. That worked out great- the frosting was the best part, IMHO, and it was a beautiful presentation. I would give it five stars because it's a great mix of ingredients, it just will take some work to get them to my liking. I think just the cake and the frosting would be great too, without the pineapple, and it would make the process easier. Also, I made the cake mix with whole eggs instead of just egg whites. It's a very good recipe, overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
My mom loves "the king" so i decided to make this cake for her birthday dinner. She loved it as did all of the guests. I did think it might be too sweet so i only used one cup of sugar with the pineapple and only about 3 cups of the icing sugar in the cream cheese mixture. I also decided to sprinkle the walnuts on the cake instead of mixing it in the icing. It made spreading the icing much easier and the presentation was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States