Elvis Presley Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I have made this cake a couple of times for work and always get asked for the recipe. It is really so simple!! I use two cans of pineapple but only the juice from one. I used the yellow cake mix with pudding. I also poke holes in the cooled cake with a toothpick before spooning the pineapple topping on. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I take this to work regularly and it always disappears quickly. I have used yellow cake mix as well as the white and I think I prefer the yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This is very good and very sweet. I did make one change. I didn't have any butter so I added 2 T of water when making the frosting. Next time I think I will only use 2 C of powdered sugar because it is too sweet but overall it is definately an excellent cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
this is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This was super good! I didn't have any pineapple in my house so I pureed a can of sliced peaches instead- yum! I didn't think it was too sweet- I did cut the glaze sugar down to 1.5 cups per reviews, but I think the 2 would have been okay too. I omitted the pecans also. Was super moist even a couple days after making it- made a huge heavy cake. Will try with pinapple next time, but as I said, the peach was delicious and refreshing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Holy Mackeral! This was triple sweet! What the heck was I thinking? I just don't know who in the world could eat this and take more than one bite. It was so sweet. I even followed other reviewers suggestions and cut the sugars down, but it was like a cavity waiting to happen. I feel bad giving a bad review, but i will not make this again. I am going to be nice and give it three stars, but that is very generous. It should be re-named "sugar ball with sugar frosting super sweet cake from hell".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Oh My! This is really really sweet. I should have followed the suggestions of other reviewers, but I didn't because I wanted to be able to make my own adjustments to my taste after following the recipe. I did however use 3 cups of PS rather then 4, and it was still entirely too much. This recipe will be perfect using only 1 cup of white sugar with the pineapple, and only 2 cups of Powdered sugar. Also, the cream cheese taste was really overpowered by the powdered sugar so next time, I am going to use about 12 oz rather then 8. After these minor adjustments, it will definately be a 5 star, but as it stands now, I can only rate it a 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
After reading other reviews, I used only 1 cup of white sugar and 2 cups of confectioner's sugar. IT WAS PERFECT!! When I poured the pineapple sugar mixture over the cake, I was skeptical, but when the cake was actually served, the cake had absorbed all of the juices and was so lucious. I made this for Papa's 65th birthday because he is an Elvis fan. EVERYONE loved the cake. I will definitely keep this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Made this for my dad's 83rd birthday. Served Hawiian Bread and the Cantonese Dinner w/ Rice. To cut Calories and I used Light Butter, lite Cream Cheese all egg whites instead of whole eggs, IF I had had Splenda on hand I would have used that instead of sugar. Did follow other sugg. ie. poked holes in cake and drained abt 1/2 of juice off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Moye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States