Elvis Presley Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made this cake for my mom's 70th BD party. Party was themed around Elvis and we had an ETA perform. This cake was a huge success. Everyone loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I made this for my Daughter-in-law's shower. Everyone loved it. Get requests to make it a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICKY C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cedar Island, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
found this recipe about 6 yrs ago, family loves it. I make it once or twice a yr, very very rich & yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I needed to make an additional comment. Previously I noted that you needed to scale back the sugar to 1 cup. You also need to poke holes in the cake while it is hot and pour the pineapple mixture over the still warm cake. Do Not drain off the juice. You want it to soak into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Grove, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Made this cake for some church friends.....they almost fell off their chairs!! They Loved it....Loved it....Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
As suggested in other reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1 cup (could have used even less) and sprinkled the nuts over top of the frosting instead of mixing them. It was absolutely delicious, a perfect cool dessert for a hot summer evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPUNZEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
In light of the mixed reviews of this recipe, a word of caution that my review is based on the changes I made to this recipe. I really wanted it to work, not only for myself but for others who might want to try it, and I believed it definitely had potential in spite of its problems, mainly that 2 cups of sugar to an 8-oz. can of pineapple is just simply far too much. I made this as a 3-layer cake, using the cake mix called for (I used French Vanilla) and a Cake Mix Extender recipe from another web site. Turned out moist, tall, and delicious. For the filling I heated a 20 oz. can of pineapple with just 1/3 cup sugar and 2 T. cornstarch till thickened, then swirled in 2 T. butter to make it silky and rich--again, perfect. Delicious and just the right amount of sweetness. Because of the size of the cake I made, and because I added some decoration, I made a double recipe of the frosting. I decorated the finished cake with sliced almonds, maraschino cherries and wedges of dried pineapple. All I gotta say is, Elvis would be proud this is his namesake. This is one, fine cake, and a real show stopper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Excellent cake! I let the pineapple cool after I put it on the cake before I put the cream cheese on top of it.Then I refridgerated the cake. Very moist! My family liked alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Interesting cake. I didn't have a white cake mix, so I made a white cake from scratch. When I made the pineapple layer, I also cut back on the sugar to 3/4 as some of the other cooks. I sprinkled the nuts on top as well, instead of stirring them into the frosting. Different taste. It works together, in an odd way. I just don't know if I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Good, good, good! Family enjoyed this tremendously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States