Elvis Presley Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Slaughter1
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this just as the recipe reads except I placed nuts on top of icing and it was WONDERFUL! I though it would be too sweet, but it's yummy. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I made this cake with some modifications and it was fit for a King! I used two single layer pans so it could be displayed on my cake plate. Very good, though very rich. Will save for special occasions or potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I loved it! Made a few changes too: added more vanilla and some almond flavoring. Was I supposed to cook the pineapples and sugar until it was of syrup consistency? I used 32oz of powdered sugar (1 whole bag); which made the icing very thick. Was that correct? This icing is soooo rich that you can only eat a very small piece of cake at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This cake is way too rich. You have to warm the icing up and pour over the cake. There is too much icing for one cake. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beverly Z
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Loved this Cake! I read the other reviews before making the cake. I made adjustment to the amount of sugar decreasing from 2 cups to 1 that was combined with the pineapple. I increased the pineapple to 20 ounce can with most of the juice. I decreased the sugar in the frosting by one cup. After the cake had cooled I poked holes in the cake. I added 1/4 cup of pecans finely chopped to the icing for a little texture. And refrigerated it before sharing with friends. They loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I love to make this cake for holiday gatherings. I agree the recipe calls for too much sugar, so I always decrease to 1 cup mixed with 20 oz. of pineapple and 2 cups in the frosting. Plenty sweet and so moist it melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by indigo
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This cake was delicious!! I made it for my mother's birthday because she loves Elvis and Pina Coladas so I thought it was perfect. I made a few changes. I decreased the sugar to 1 cup such as the others suggested. I also added some coconut extract to the frosting and cake mix. I also toasted some coconut flakes and covered the cake in them for decoration. Everyone loved it! The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because it was a bit dry, next time I'll maybe put some pineapples in the cake mix or pineapple juice to make it moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indigo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
"Fabulous" doesn't do this cake justice - it was absolutely delicious! Used yellow cake mix as I didn't have white...so, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Fantastic! Took others advice and added the nuts on top of the cake for a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Yum! Didn't change anything in the recipe and it was delicious! Family loved it... a keeper, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States