Elvis Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I used "soured" milk and Jif super-chunk peanut butter in this recipe. Though the batter looked okay in the bowl, it was extremely thick and hard to not only get it onto the griddle without really messing with it AND the pancakes didn't want to cook once they were on the griddle. I would try this again but I would use a different pancake batter as the base--this one really didn't work out for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These were great! My family of 7 completely enjoyed them. I ran out of bananas and didn't have any chocolate chips, so I improvised a little and used chunky peanut butter and the new JIF chocolatey butter. It worked great! I can't wait to make them again, but with bananas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These were okay, we all found them way too sweet. Also, the batter is very thick and the first batch I had to toss because the inside never cooked up. I thinned the batter with more milk and the rest cooked up fine. If I make these again, I will leave out the brown sugar. Also, the peanut butter is very strong even though there's only 1/4 cup. I love PB, but I think I would cut back just a little. If this was intended as a dessert pancake, with a little vanilla ice cream I'd give it 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
These were excellent, for a special treat! I did add a little extra milk to get the batter more pourable, maybe another 1/3 cup or so, but these pancakes tasted great. I used smooth peanut butter and warmed it a bit to soften it so it would mix better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Some of the previous reviews said this recipe was too thick. We actually had the opposite problem with it being runny. I did add another banana and I mashed them and mixed them with the liquids. Since it was runny I added an extra 2 TBSP of flour. They turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
These have become a staple in our house, one of the only breakfasts we all love! The only thing I do different is mash the bananas rather than dicing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I tried it without the peanut butter as my son is deathly allergic and it turned out perfectly. They ate them all and I had to whip up another batch. Thanks again for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Everyone in my family loves this recipe. It's always a great hit, and I feel like after making it a few times it's really easy to do. I like to add a little extra brown sugar and a few extra chocolate chips, but other than that this recipe is gold! Truth be told, the banana being mushy in the pancake took a little getting used to for me (but I'm not usually a big banana fan) , but I really love it. I think it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
With or without peanut butter these are super easy and really good. I've even skipped the melted butter and they're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I halved the peanut butter and brown sugar and they were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States