Elva's Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This is the best recipe for custard pie. I made this a few times my father in law says it tastes just like is mothers when he was a kid and it's a true honest custured pie. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mechanicville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. Great custard pie but I have two comments first cut nutmeg in half second I have increased the time because at the time on the recipe the custard is still wet and jiggly so I have a total time of 10 minutes @ 475 and 60 minutes @ 350 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
My SO really liked this but I was on the fence. It's definitely sweet, as others have commented, but the texture is a little weird. A little too gelatinous? And the flavor is a little too eggy. It's just slightly off in taste and texture in a way that I can't get over. The custard I'm used to is more dairy based I think, less egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
We did not like this. It was like a sweet omelet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Egg custard pie has always been my favorite but this was the first time I have ever made it. It was just like my mom's egg custard pie - delicious!! I followed the recipe but baked the crust for a few minutes before pouring the egg into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is one of the best custard pies I have ever tasted. It reminds me of my grandmother's custard pie. Also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
My first pie. Easy, ingredients commonly found in your kitchen, and best of all DELISCIOUS! I am going to use this recipe as a base for my new found pie making confidence and try different spins on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Great! I did follow another review I saw and added extra vanilla, cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, and a little bit more sugar...I do recommend doing it that way! Thanks, Evelyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnyderFamily96

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Not the creamy texture I was hoping for. Will continue to search for the ultimate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I loved this recipe. It was simple, very easy to make and tasted great! Only thing I would suggest is that the instructions include wrapping the crust with a ring of Aluminum foil to keep it from browning too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States