Ellen's Lemon Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I made this yesterday and made some tweaks. It came out perfectly and I'm a serious baker. I used 1/2c canola oil and 1/2 c applesauce. I added 2 tsp cinnamon, increased vanilla to 2tsp, used 3T lemon juice instead of extract, 2 lemons zested, and 2 c regular flour and 1c white whole wheat flour. I used 3c shredded zucchini instead of 2. Best bread I've made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Bauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I add finely chopped lavender, used 1 cup granulated sugar/stevia, 2 cups wholewheat flour (ground in Vitamix) /1 cup all purpose. Added the juice of the lemon as well as the lemon extract, makes 12 muffins. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This is great. No modifications needed. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUGAR3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is definitely going into the book! Took this into work yesterday and the recipe was handed out 3 times already. The only thing I added was more lemon zest, the juice of the lemon and 1/2 cup sour cream (which goes into every quick bread I make). By far one of the best loaves to use up the excess zucchini from summer...Thank you, Ellen! Just a thought....chopped cherries, or cranberries...would look pretty good on the christmas platter:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Horsefly, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Very good! I made mine in small loaf pans. The sugar sprinkled in pan before baking was a nice touch. Was like a sugar glaze around sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamacook
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
My new favorite zucchini bread. This is so good, very moist and fragrant lemon smell. I used zucchini from our garden and Meyer Lemon from our tree. I followed the recipe exactly, but next time may cut back on the oil and use some applesauce. Will make this again around Thanksgiving with shredded zucchini that I freeze. Thanks for a great recipe, most delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I made muffins with this recipe using fresh yellow zucchini from the garden. Unbelievably good. Don't think many will make it to the freezer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I never review a recipe-just something I don't seem to do but I had to rate this one. I tried it last year when the zucchini was in and made enough to last the winter. Zucchini are back and it is time to do it again. THE VERY BEST ZUCCHINI BREAD EVER. The recipe is perfect as is. Can't wait for it to come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Excellent bread with strong lemon flavor! I used 1 cup brown sugar with 1/2 cup white sugar and fresh lemon juice instead of extract. Loved the sugar finish on the loaves. Next time will substitute most/all oil with applesauce to lighten it up a bit. My kids loved it - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
oh my word!!! someone brought me a mini loaf of this with the frosting on it. I about swooned with delight. absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States