Ellen's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was really good!! I didn't have any orange juice or white wine, so just made it without and it was still delish! I used herbs de provence as that is what I had on-hand. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was a very easy and tasty recipe. I had to tweek the recipe but only because I did not have mushrooms, white wine or orange juice. I used a whole cut up chicken, skin and fat removed, except for the wings which were left in tact. I washed, dried and seasoned both sides with salt, pepper and rosemary. I browned in oil and butter and after removing added the onion and garlic and red bell pepper slices, I used red wine (all I had on hand) and had I used crushed or plum canned tomatoes in place of the diced, the sauce would've been thicker for the side of the pasta I made for this. Despite the thin consistency, which is what this recipe aims for, the flavor was excellent. A keeper and remake for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Made this last night for my family. They absolutely loved it. I did not use mushrooms only because I didnt have them. It had a very nice flavor and I used 1/4 cup of OJ because I didnt want it too sweet. I did add more garlic than requested and I added basil. Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Tried this recipe today. It was very good. I made my own changes due to time constraints today. After I browned the chicken and sauteed the onion, garlic mixture, I put everything in a slow cooker for 4 hours. I also added some spaghetti sauce (about 3/4 cup). Since my husband is not crazy about rice or pasta, this was served over mashed potatoes. A real hit with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Delicious! Loved the sauce and I'm SO happy that I have left-overs for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Yummy! I also made a few adjustments based on what I had on hand (thanks to so many others who gave feedback that they did this so I was assured the recipe would still work). I will definitely use this recipe again and may eventually do so exactly as written. Regardless, I highly recommend others give it a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is so good you may have to stop yourself from licking the plate. Whatever you do, don't leave out or substitute the OJ, wine or rosemary. Ellen's right about the mix forming the character if the dish. That said, I did take another reviewers recommendation to cut the rosemary in half, and that was perfect for my tastes. It worked great with boneless chicken breasts and they were falling apart tender. I decided to add just a small roux at the last minute to bind the sauce, but it didn't really need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sggeiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I found this to have a nice full bodied flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is my first time making or having this dish, but at the request of my husband made it tonight. Wow! He wa so impressed and just kept saying how flavorful and tasty it was and then got up and went back for seconds. I only changed a couple things because its what I had. I ended up doing half diced and half stewed tomatoes, used white cooking wine and I let it simmer uncovered to evaporate a bit of the liquids. I will definitely try to have exactly what I used this time on hand next time, because my husband said he wouldn't change a thig and E's a seasoned pro with chicken cacciatore. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States