Ellen's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
So many recipes but I decided on this one as DH doesn't like bell peppers that are in many. It is outstanding! I did make it an hour ahead of time and heated it later as DH often works late Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael Dominic
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
My original review is below. I'm updating it and taking off a star because this time I used the 2 tablespoons of dried rosemary as directed. It absolutely ruined the dish, making it bitter and nearly unedible. ---------- This came out perfectly. I made it exactly as the recipe directed, except I used fresh rosemary instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dominic
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I followed this recipe to the letter, but used boneless/skinless thighs for the chicken. We found the dish to be so, so. My husband and I were not impressed with the rosemary/tomato combination. I'm returning to my classic recipe for this dish. It was not bad if you like rosemary with tomatoes. we didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Followed recipe pretty close but omitted wine (I am alcohol-free, no longer touch the stuff) and only used 1 Tb crushed rosemary because 2 seemed excessive. The sauce was perfect, not watery as some claimed (maybe due to no wine so less liquid). Husband had seconds! Note to self: use non-stick pan next time, the chicken thighs stuck to my Calphalon pan even with oil. Everything got scraped up in the end but it was a bit of a mess when I removed the cooked thighs from the pan. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
good taste. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Made it today, my husband totally loved it. We had jalapeño focaccia bread with it. I think I'd be great over basmati rice as well. Thank you, Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly interms of ingrediants, I did throw it in a slow cooker though because of a busy day. I thought it was great, my husband thought it had a little too much wine in it so for his preference I would in the future cut that back a bit but that might have just been because it was in the slow cooker or I did not have as much meat cooking in it. Thanks for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennyAndTheBoys
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly except for mushrooms which I didn't have. I thought it was delicious, runny yes, but I actually love runny sauces that you can sop up with bread. The chicken came out very tender. My husband and 10 year old son thought it was a bit acidic (the tomato taste was over powering for them) so next time I will try it with half the tomatoes. My 3 year old twins inhaled this and one of them rubbed his tummy and said mmmmm. I served it on white rice and a side of bread. The Rosemary did not seem like too much for us, it gave it a good flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was great!!!! it's really a 4.5 star!!!! I did cut back on the rosemary to 2.5 teaspoons and added a can of tomato paste. I also cut up the thighs in to small pieces sure it boosted the flavor level. Served on top of egg noodles with butter biscuits, Cant wait to try the leftovers, I bet it will be better the 2nd. time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Kealy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States