Ellen's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Definitely add a small can if tomato paste. Even if the original recipe is meant to be a thin sauce it really does work out better with the paste. Easily makes enough sauce for 12 oz of penne pasta, probably enough for 16 oz. depending upon the ratio of sauce to pasta that you prefer. This has a nice mild flavor but is not bland at all. Be sure to top it with grated parm. Even my mushroom hater of a teenage son gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I love chicken cacciatore but my family hates peppers and any vegetables I try to slip in. This recipe is not only simple, but so flavorful! Everyone Loved it- even the picky kids! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this recipe as written and was a little hesitant about the orange juice, but I loved the final flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
no flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Made exactly as written except I used fresh rosemary. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by goldyloxand3sons
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was incredibly good, a true keeper. I had to make one substitution because I didn't have white wine. I used the juice from a can of peaches with 2t of Apple cider vinegar. Next time I'll have the white wine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Absolutely delicious ! Even my husband loved it and told me to use this for our family gathering. I followed the recipe exactly and will again. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny Leiviska
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I used chicken breast and didn't use the white wine but it turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Leiviska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was really good!! I didn't have any orange juice or white wine, so just made it without and it was still delish! I used herbs de provence as that is what I had on-hand. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was a very easy and tasty recipe. I had to tweek the recipe but only because I did not have mushrooms, white wine or orange juice. I used a whole cut up chicken, skin and fat removed, except for the wings which were left in tact. I washed, dried and seasoned both sides with salt, pepper and rosemary. I browned in oil and butter and after removing added the onion and garlic and red bell pepper slices, I used red wine (all I had on hand) and had I used crushed or plum canned tomatoes in place of the diced, the sauce would've been thicker for the side of the pasta I made for this. Despite the thin consistency, which is what this recipe aims for, the flavor was excellent. A keeper and remake for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States