Ellen's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Tried this recipe today. It was very good. I made my own changes due to time constraints today. After I browned the chicken and sauteed the onion, garlic mixture, I put everything in a slow cooker for 4 hours. I also added some spaghetti sauce (about 3/4 cup). Since my husband is not crazy about rice or pasta, this was served over mashed potatoes. A real hit with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Delicious! Loved the sauce and I'm SO happy that I have left-overs for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Yummy! I also made a few adjustments based on what I had on hand (thanks to so many others who gave feedback that they did this so I was assured the recipe would still work). I will definitely use this recipe again and may eventually do so exactly as written. Regardless, I highly recommend others give it a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is so good you may have to stop yourself from licking the plate. Whatever you do, don't leave out or substitute the OJ, wine or rosemary. Ellen's right about the mix forming the character if the dish. That said, I did take another reviewers recommendation to cut the rosemary in half, and that was perfect for my tastes. It worked great with boneless chicken breasts and they were falling apart tender. I decided to add just a small roux at the last minute to bind the sauce, but it didn't really need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sggeiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I found this to have a nice full bodied flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is my first time making or having this dish, but at the request of my husband made it tonight. Wow! He wa so impressed and just kept saying how flavorful and tasty it was and then got up and went back for seconds. I only changed a couple things because its what I had. I ended up doing half diced and half stewed tomatoes, used white cooking wine and I let it simmer uncovered to evaporate a bit of the liquids. I will definitely try to have exactly what I used this time on hand next time, because my husband said he wouldn't change a thig and E's a seasoned pro with chicken cacciatore. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Yes! Used one of the suggestions to use thyme too but could go either way. VERY nice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
it was good. Cut the can tomatoes in half. Easy on the thyme/rosemary(maybe a pinch needed only).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This recipe was a good base. I modified it by using boneless, skinless chicken breasts, low sodium chicken broth instead of white wine, and onion powder instead of chopped onion. The chicken was very tender. I served it over white rice. I will cut back on the Rosemary next time. It was a little overpowering. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States