Ellen's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Yes! Used one of the suggestions to use thyme too but could go either way. VERY nice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
it was good. Cut the can tomatoes in half. Easy on the thyme/rosemary(maybe a pinch needed only).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This recipe was a good base. I modified it by using boneless, skinless chicken breasts, low sodium chicken broth instead of white wine, and onion powder instead of chopped onion. The chicken was very tender. I served it over white rice. I will cut back on the Rosemary next time. It was a little overpowering. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
The whole family really liked it a lot! I diced up fresh tomatoes, squash, and zucchini to put our garden vegetables and fresh rosemary to use and cooked with other veggies, but the squashes did make it more liquidy. Will make again. For fresh rosemary or other fresh herbs, use 3 times the dried amount. Any cheaper wine will give this dish a very nice flavor- same as the expensive kind. Served over linguine 'cause that's what was in the cupboard, and isn't this an Italian dish?! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I loved this! I made it exactly except for putting in fresh rosemary since we had it in the garden. It was lovely! I started the whole thing on the stove, and tranferred it to a dutch oven and baked it for about 45 minutes at 350 because I had things to do and couldn't watch it on the stove. It turned out fantastic and I will definitely be making this again! Great recipe, easy and fast and incredibly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This recipe was just awesome! I used a large jar of Spaghetti Sauce. Added a Green Pepper and Red Pepper. We love Mushrooms so I threw in a 16 oz. package. I didn't have any OJ so left it out. Used Marsala Wine and increased that to 3/4 cup. Also added 1 Tsp. of dried Oregano. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I have not ever made Cacciatore before. This was a great first recipe. It turned out wonderful, the whole family liked it. I used fresh squeezed OJ and the white wine that we had at the house, it was not a dry wine, and I could see how the dish would change based on the wine used, but it was great. I will be using this recipe again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This recipe was a hit. I am not the cook in the family, my Italian husband is, but he is busy most nights so I came across this recipe and luckily had all the ingredients on hand including fresh oranges and fresh rosemary. I followed the recipe to the tee. Though it came out a little liquid-y, my husband suggested to add a roux but as others reviewed stated I think its suppose to be like that especially for a nice piece of bread. Usually my husband will add additional seasoning as I under spice but he didn't add one thing. It was fast and easy and I am going to definitely add to my short list of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I'm not a fan of rosemary so I put in thyme instead and it seemed to be missing flavor when I did that. Also, I had to uncover the pan to get it to reduce down enough that it wouldn't be so soupy. I probably won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Delicious! The whole family enjoyed it. I didn't have any orange juice or mushrooms, so I substituted tomato sauce and zucchini, respectively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States