Ellen's Buffalo Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. It's a nice meatloaf. I like the tomatoes in it. Good idea. I didn't have trouble like other reviewers slicing it. Some said it crumbled, mine sliced like normal meatloaf. I also didn't have the "juice" the submitter talked about in her review. It all came out status quo. I must say though, if you've not had buffalo before, the texture looks a bit like cat food. Tastes pretty good though. I didn't find it gamey at all. Thanks for sharing ellenmoriah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Delicious comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is easy, and amazing. I didn't have, of all things, canned tomatoes, so I drained a 10 oz can of Rotel tomatoes and chilis, and used that instead. It was fantastic. The slight sweet taste of the ketchup was marvelous against the spice of the Rotel. I baked it in my microwave convection oven, 30 minutes at 350 and 25 at 325. Perfect. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Made it for my girlfriend. she loved it! even got five year old nephew to try it.(thats saying alot) will.definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
huge hit in our family! I accidentily forgot to drain the tomatoes so I added 1 cup of quick oats to help soak up the juice, and a second egg to help the oats bind to the meatloaf. I also diced a green pepper and added it because I didn't want it to go to waste. This recipe made a huge meatloaf, enough to comfortably serve 8. Serious bargain meal with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jog4donuts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
The is the best meatloaf I have had. SO much flavor. I did vary a bit... I substituted diced tomatoes for roasted red peppers. I added about a tablespoon of olive oil and I added about a tablespoon of (fresh) rosemary. YUM, YUM, YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
We absolutely loved this! We are a meat and potatoes type couple, but we're always trying to find ways to eat more healthy and try something new. We were thrilled that our local butcher had/has buffalo on hand and we're happy to now throw this in the mix for dinner! Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMBreen95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was great! The only changes I made were using 1/4 dried quinoa cooked for 8 minutes in 1/2 cup water in lieu of breadcrumbs. I put meatloaf in bread pan and after 60 mins, I took out of the oven, drained liquid, and continued cooking. It was yummy and very healthy. Served alongside roasted brussel sprouts! My toddler loved it, too :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by villa_n_tuscany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Tried it, we love Bison...tweeked some hot Rotel to sub. the diced tomatoes...must have if you like it spicy! Great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I'd never cooked with buffalo before - this was the perfect starter recipe! Combining a bunch of other recipes here: Substituted quick oats (like Mom!) for bread, spicy brown mustard instead of powdered, and just a sprinkle of salt. Cooked in mini loaf pans for 45 minutes. It crumbled instead of sliced. I didn't care. :) Thank you, Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States