Ellen's Buffalo Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ellenmoriah
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is my recipe, so let me add this to what I originally posted. Ground bison emits a "juice" that isn't familiar to me with other ground meats. I don't know what it is. I DO know that I skim it away from the meatloaf and once that's done, it doesn't appear again... not even during reheating. For those of you who've added to the recipe, I suspect the additions altered the chemistry. If the results were tasty, excellent! If not, you might want to try to recipe as posted, and alter it later, once you know what the original tastes like. The quick summary is the ground bison behaves differently when baked than ground beef. I should have mentioned this in my original posting of the recipe. Sorry 'bout that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Very good, I made them into mini-meatloaves, using a muffin tin. I'm impatient and don't like to have to wait the 1 1/2 hours to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluucantu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I ended up making this with half ground buffalo and half ground beef (didn't pay attention when taking it out of the freezer). I added some fresh garlic, and, like others, diced up the canned tomatoes a little more finely. The only other change I made was to mix some prepared English mustard with the ketchup. Although it crumbled when I cut into it, this was a very tasty meatloaf. Nice and moist too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Because Im "eating healthy" i modified this a bit and it still came out great. I used whole wheat breadcrumbs I (have also used a whole wheat pita all ground up before as well) and eggbeaters. I used 1/3 cup crushed tomatoes because I dont like tomato chunks and only 1/4 onion. Also I didnt add any salt. This was great and it stuck to my plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA
Living In: Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Great recipe. I used all antelope instead of buffalo. I doubled the recipe but only used 1 can of diced tomatoes. I didn't have mustard powder so I used a tablespoon of regular mustard. It was good... the only thing I would do different is chop the the onions and tomatoes smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Mountain View, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is the first time I've cooked bison. This is an easy recipe that calls for few ingredients and tastes great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
If you are looking for a substitute for beef then try this recipe. Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was the best meatloaf I ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
So moist! We love the addition of the canned tomatoes, but do take the time to chop them smaller- some of the pieces were quite large! I used whole grain crackers in place of the bread, and added some flax and wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I have to say this is the best meatloaf I have ever tasted. My fiance' made this for me and I think the only thing she did differently was to use bay leaves in it somehow. (I'm no cook and not one to get on a computer to make a review) But this is gooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skaklrobison
Home Town: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States