Ellen's Addictive Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I thought the hot sauce gave it a "store bought" taste, wouldn't add it again. I think the amounts of lemon juice , tomato, and onion seem a little high, used a few dashes each of lime and lemon juice and still thought it was too much. I used some fresh Pico I'd already made (just tomato, onion, cilantro mixed to my taste) so I'm not sure of the amounts, but I'm sure I used a good amount less than the recipe calls for. I added fresh minced jalapeno and habanero (1-4 Tablespoons to taste), garlic powder (I didn't measure- but be careful- only 1/2 tsp or so, start with less), and fresh cilantro (already in my Pico.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
yup....which is a good one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Converted my husband - he doesn't like guac but now he does! Fresh flavors. 5 stars as written. I make it with either lemon or lime and now add a little cumin. (For those of you that like cilantro and jalapeno in your guac - add it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is not the best guacamole I've ever had, but it is quite good and very easy to remember. If you prefer the fresh tastes of the avocados and tomatoes to be forefront, this is the recipe for you. That means the quality of the ingredients can make a big impact. Farmer's market tomatoes may be the way to go. I like a little more spice: more salt, garlic and some heat (some cayenne mixed into the lemon juice helps). The lemon helps slow the browning, another bonus. I usually half the recipe and keep it in an airtight container for use as a condiment through the week. Thank you, Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paige, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was the first guacamole recipe I have ever liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I added some garlic salt good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
You have to go with your instincts on this recipe as we don't like so much onion. So add ingredients to your discretion and the salt as you like too. I'm not giving the recipe less than 5 stars because we loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
We tried this recipe with carne asada. We used cherry tomatoes from the garden which added such flavor. I used lime juice instead of lemon juice and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Today is 02/05/2013 and I just made this recipe and realized I forgot the Lemon Juice but it was still great! I like this version because it is natural, homemade and you can make this sodium free. Plus, no buy buying the pre-packaged spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I thought this was just ok. It didn't have a ton of flavor, and the lemon was quite strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Chunky Paleo Guacamole

A chunky-style guacamole with diced jalapenos, garlic, and tomatoes.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States