Ellen Szaller's Mashed Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
My family loved the taste but liked the consistency of the potato cakes much better with only one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Being of German decent, I always look for "Potato" Pancakes. Ellen's caught my eye; glad it did. Great recipes, however, I made a slight change to it. Instead of using 1 cup milk, I increased it to 1-1/2 cup to make the mixture thinner. At first, I feared one onion would be too much but after the pancakes were fried, we tasted only a hint of onion - just enough to add some zest to the recipe. Thanks, Ellen, for sharing this recipe with AllRecipe readers. God bless you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I had leftover garlic mashed, so I used those, and left out the corn syrup. These were EXCELLENT with a little ketchup. My three year old ate 3 by himself! (can't beat fried mashed potatoes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I found this recipe to be very good. The only drawback are the calories. But my kids loved it, plus I too was able to use the left over mashed potatoes. I would definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtecgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I thought these were a great way to use leftover mashed potatoes. I didn't add the onions and because they turned out so sweet, I served them for dessert w/ butter and honey. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Didn't work for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
OUTstanding...if you had problems with the recipe it might be because you were recycling mashed potatoes that had lost some water. Also, I used more oil in the cooking process...about one inch deep at 350 degrees. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the letter....LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Loved these, thought they were a great use for some leftover mashed potatoes I had in the fridge. I used my garlic mashed potatoes and served them with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Great change of pace. Used leftover mashed potatoes, substituted whole wheat flour, and skipped the corn syrup simply because I did not realize we were out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Best potato pancakes we ever tasted - the whole family agrees! Very moist but not soggy, slightly sweet with hint of nutmeg - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States