Ellen Szaller's Mashed Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I had leftover garlic mashed, so I used those, and left out the corn syrup. These were EXCELLENT with a little ketchup. My three year old ate 3 by himself! (can't beat fried mashed potatoes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
We used left-over mashed potatoes from Christmas dinner for this recipe. They had a very pasty consistency and a sweet taste that didn't seem right, so next time, we will omit the flour, 1 egg, and the corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
I made these for my family last night and was delighted with the results -- within seconds they were completely gone! I have yet to find a snack which required such little prep time, and which yielded such amazing responses from my family! Thank you Ellen for making dinner fun again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
My family absoultely hated these potato cakes, they didn't look bad but they just tasted awful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
OUTstanding...if you had problems with the recipe it might be because you were recycling mashed potatoes that had lost some water. Also, I used more oil in the cooking process...about one inch deep at 350 degrees. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the letter....LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This was a big disappointment. The pancakes were extremely doughy and heavy, and didn't have much appeal with the family. But at least we used up the leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Being of German decent, I always look for "Potato" Pancakes. Ellen's caught my eye; glad it did. Great recipes, however, I made a slight change to it. Instead of using 1 cup milk, I increased it to 1-1/2 cup to make the mixture thinner. At first, I feared one onion would be too much but after the pancakes were fried, we tasted only a hint of onion - just enough to add some zest to the recipe. Thanks, Ellen, for sharing this recipe with AllRecipe readers. God bless you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Loved these, thought they were a great use for some leftover mashed potatoes I had in the fridge. I used my garlic mashed potatoes and served them with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
My son and I made these for a quick late night dinner. I had been looking for a long time for a good recipe and this is it. I did make a couple of changes. I omitted the corn syrup and nutmeg. I also added 1/4 cup parmesan cheese. These turned out perfect. We topped them with sour cream and I am planning on making another batch right now. We used left over pancakes for a modified eggs benedict. We topped them with canadian bacon, poached egg, and hollandaise sauce. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Highly recommend for using left over mashed potatoes. They were quick, easy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States