Elk Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I made slight changes based on my hubby's dislike of onions, and he said it was the best elk he'd ever eaten. I swapped minced garlic for the minced onion, but to still get a little of the onion flavor, swapped onion powder for the garlic powder. Used garlic pepper blend in placed of the black pepper. The first time I made this, it was just enough for 5 palm-sized pieces of backstrap - perfect. I doubled it the next time for 1.5 lbs of leg steaks - enough steak to comfortably fill a quart-zize zip bag, and I found that I probably didn't need to do so. I don't think you need to increase the marinade if you're using a baggie, but definitely would if marinating in a bowl or similar container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made this for dh last night, he loved it! also the elk which was a medallion so not too much. It marinated for only about 45 minutes then I fried it in a cast iron hot frying pan....2 mins on one side and about 3 on other..perfectly pink inside and really tender! his first time eating elk, but not the last! (I'm a vegetarian :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Incredible! Marinated for 24 hours and it grilled perfect following the directions/temps. Elk usually sticks to the grill but this marinade made it flip easily. Will use this recipe every time on elk steaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Fantastic. I am going to use this for all types of steak in the future. But really good with Elk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake Olson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
First time I've made elk! Thanks Brother Don! I quadrupled the recipe to cover 3 large steaks with enough marinade. Put all in a ziploc, and let marinate for 2 1/2 days. Turned a few times. REEEEEALLY delicious. Nicely Flavored what I think is pretty bland meat (no fat). Highly recommend. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoriaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Excellent marinade. I had to quadruple this, however, as it makes a tiny amount. I couldn't figure out if it was supposed to absorb completely, but that's not how I'm used to marinating meat so I made more. Hubs asked me to add liquid smoke, so I did, and I added minced garlic as well. Didn't have elk, just used hubs' family farmed beef steaks. Everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I loved it and only marinaded the elk for 2 hours. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
this waz really good but marinade yer meat 24 hours to 2 days..best used on grill...really good!! susanlynne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States