Elk Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Great recipe but make sure to be liberal with the salt and pepper. The recipe to add says to taste, but game meat contains no salt so don't be afraid to put extra on. I also made an herb brown gravy to touch it up with and it was very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Needham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Wow, this recipe is fantastic!! I'm not a meat eater, to be honest, but I made this for friends and family becaue I was given several pounds of elk from a neighbor. I made some for myself, sans the elk, and I was amazed at how delicious parsnips are. I followed the recipe to a T for everyone and they raved about the elk version. I felt especially proud that I can still cook a "meat" dish that tastes delicious. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is a great recipe! I made a few slight changes - instead of frozen veggies, I used fresh (asparagus, red bell pepper, broccoli and carrots). I also added minced garlic along with the garlic powder. We are always looking for good game meat recipes and this is definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This was great! I used a whole pound of elk meat and used a casserole dish. Four potatoes was still a lot to pile on top. My ten month old ate like a man and even loved the parsnip! I wasn't comfortable salting it as much as it needed with the baby eating with us, but just left the salt shaker out and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Great recipe. Pretty much followed it with the exception that I used minced garlic instead of garlic powder. My picky daughter really likes this recipe and actually haves seconds. Big hit for the whole family..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
my husband loves shepherds pie. I made this with ground moose. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I don't really have access to ground elk, so I just used ground beef, and this was absolutely delicious. I have a daughter with celiac disease, and this recipe is also gluten free. Excellent dish that has made my recipe rotation. Thank you for a fantastic recipe without processed foods and cream soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
My family loved this recipe!! I did make a couple of changes though. I used ground beef instead of the elk, I used 2 large cloves of fresh garlic in place of the garlic powder and after spreading the melted butter on the potatoes my daughter grated a light layer of asiago on top. Delish!! Because I have to feed a large family I doubled the recipe and baked this in a deep casserole dish. This is a fantastic recipe and my family has requested that it be served regularly. (Next time I will make a gravy with the meat layer.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Penfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Good recipe... But technically, wouldn't this be "Hunter's Pie"? Just a thought. Shepherd's pie is lamb. You know... From the "Shepherd's" flock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizzy'sMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Followed exactly. seasoned exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piiswoman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States