Elk Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This was my first time trying elk and this recipe was very good for an introduction. My elk didn't taste very gamey at all, although I did rinse it before cooking. It only gets 4 stars because it's a pretty basic recipe. Nothing spectacular, but it definitely served its purpose. Also, I used 1lb of elk and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Cardinal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
We were given ground elk meat by some family members who hunt. We had no idea how to cook it, so I turned to my favorite recipe site and found this shepherd's pie. I follow a low-carb high-fat way of eating, so instead of potatoes, I microwaved cauliflower and mushrooms until both were soft soft soft. Then I put them through a food processor with butter and cream until they were blended perfectly smooth like mashed potatoes. For the veggies I used asparagus, mushrooms, spinach and onion, and also minced garlic. My family went NUTS over it, as did I. Unbelievable taste and all around texture. All I can say is WOW! And thanks! The photo is the result of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casey
Home Town: Encino, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
the whole family loved this recipe simple to make and fun to make a very enjoyable and every way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Followed exactly. seasoned exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piiswoman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Pretty good. Though it wouldn't be fair as I put in vegetables a really didn't like. Nothing like a good mound of mashed potatoes to cover those. I did not use parsnips as I really really don't like those. I used Moose meat. I put garlic in with the mashed potatoes while they were cooking so I omitted the garlic powder. My mixed veggies was califlower, brocoli and carrot. I also added peas. On top of the mashed potatoes, just before putting in oven I added parsley and a couple of cut up green onion...just to be different. I found the shepherd's pie dry but that is most likely cause the moose meat was so lean. I had zero drippings for cooking the veggies so I added a bit a vegetable oil to the pan and covered them for steaming...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Good recipe... But technically, wouldn't this be "Hunter's Pie"? Just a thought. Shepherd's pie is lamb. You know... From the "Shepherd's" flock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizzy'sMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This recipe was very flavorful and my first experience with parsnip and elk. Since the recipe is a bit time consuming I cooked the meat (2 lbs) prior to leaving for work, and removed from frig. placed in glass pie plate while preparing other ingredients. I must say "finally a way to make frozen vegetables edible". I didn’t have Italian season so I looked it and had all the ingredients but sage, so I used rosemary and took the advice with the salt and seasonings to taste. My family enjoyed this dinner and we have leftovers. I froze the remaining meat to use for either another pie or spaghetti sauce. Yum! Nicely written directions. I think parsnip would make a great smelling candle:)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Wow this was great! My husband is a hunter and this was my first time eating game meat and it was amazing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andreanikole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Keep the game meat recipies comming! Fabulous - Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Strongly Addictive and Tasty! I normally cook with Game Meat, never Hamburger. The Recipe is a Terrific way to Compliment the Elk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States