Elk Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This was my first time trying elk and this recipe was very good for an introduction. My elk didn't taste very gamey at all, although I did rinse it before cooking. It only gets 4 stars because it's a pretty basic recipe. Nothing spectacular, but it definitely served its purpose. Also, I used 1lb of elk and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Cardinal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
We were given ground elk meat by some family members who hunt. We had no idea how to cook it, so I turned to my favorite recipe site and found this shepherd's pie. I follow a low-carb high-fat way of eating, so instead of potatoes, I microwaved cauliflower and mushrooms until both were soft soft soft. Then I put them through a food processor with butter and cream until they were blended perfectly smooth like mashed potatoes. For the veggies I used asparagus, mushrooms, spinach and onion, and also minced garlic. My family went NUTS over it, as did I. Unbelievable taste and all around texture. All I can say is WOW! And thanks! The photo is the result of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casey
Home Town: Encino, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
the whole family loved this recipe simple to make and fun to make a very enjoyable and every way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Followed exactly. seasoned exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piiswoman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Pretty good. Though it wouldn't be fair as I put in vegetables a really didn't like. Nothing like a good mound of mashed potatoes to cover those. I did not use parsnips as I really really don't like those. I used Moose meat. I put garlic in with the mashed potatoes while they were cooking so I omitted the garlic powder. My mixed veggies was califlower, brocoli and carrot. I also added peas. On top of the mashed potatoes, just before putting in oven I added parsley and a couple of cut up green onion...just to be different. I found the shepherd's pie dry but that is most likely cause the moose meat was so lean. I had zero drippings for cooking the veggies so I added a bit a vegetable oil to the pan and covered them for steaming...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Good recipe... But technically, wouldn't this be "Hunter's Pie"? Just a thought. Shepherd's pie is lamb. You know... From the "Shepherd's" flock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizzy'sMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This recipe was very flavorful and my first experience with parsnip and elk. Since the recipe is a bit time consuming I cooked the meat (2 lbs) prior to leaving for work, and removed from frig. placed in glass pie plate while preparing other ingredients. I must say "finally a way to make frozen vegetables edible". I didn’t have Italian season so I looked it and had all the ingredients but sage, so I used rosemary and took the advice with the salt and seasonings to taste. My family enjoyed this dinner and we have leftovers. I froze the remaining meat to use for either another pie or spaghetti sauce. Yum! Nicely written directions. I think parsnip would make a great smelling candle:)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Wow this was great! My husband is a hunter and this was my first time eating game meat and it was amazing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Keep the game meat recipies comming! Fabulous - Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Strongly Addictive and Tasty! I normally cook with Game Meat, never Hamburger. The Recipe is a Terrific way to Compliment the Elk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States