Elk Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Double the beans and the green chili!! I used cubed venison I seared with the onions... Ah-MA-zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Great recipe and very simple, basically just brown your meat with the onions, and throw everything in a crock pot, and leave it for a couple hours on high...PERFECTION!! I also use half the brown sugar that it calls for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by john benchley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Made this chili for the playoff game at our local bar. Doubled the recipe with the exception of the brown sugar, left that the same. The whole crock pot was scraped clean within 40 minutes. LOVE this chili!!! Not too sweet, not too spicy. Perfect, perfect, perfect !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
My husband's uncle gives us pounds of elk meat every year and this is all we use it for!! We half the brown sugar, but that's the only change we made! Even my picky tweenager loves and it and she doesn't eat anything "weird" as she calls it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Excellent. I followed other suggestions and cut the brown sugar in half. Thanks for a quick and easy chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Smith
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe last night and it was great! I will definitely be making it again w/ a few minor tweeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
We absolutely loved this! I useda 1 lb chub of ground elk and followed the recipe. BF and I will be making this again and again. I look forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
My boyfriend always has leftover elk from hunting, and I'm not usually a fan, but this is a delicious recipe! I don't even think you need the brown sugar and I added two cans of green chilies instead of one. Once you get past the browning process of the meat, everything is literally just thrown into a crock pot. I top with sour cream or sprinkle some Parmesan cheese over the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaRose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Since my friend just gave me a few pounds of fresh ground Elk, I decided to give this a try. Followed the recipe for the most part but did change a couple things, mainly due to what I had on hand. Substituted the tomato sauce for a thinned out tomato paste. Since I used 2 lbs of Elk, I added a can of Jalapeno Black Beans as well as the Kidney Beans. I browned the Elk and onions, drained the fat and then added everything to a crockpot and cooked it on high for approximately four hours. I baked some corn bread to go with it. It was perfect! Not too sweet, not too spicy, just right. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I really enjoy this recipe. To make it spread more i double the seasonings and use 4 cans of beans and 2 cans of tomotoes. I also cut the brown sugar at least by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melody bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States