Elk Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I really enjoy this recipe. To make it spread more i double the seasonings and use 4 cans of beans and 2 cans of tomotoes. I also cut the brown sugar at least by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melody bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This recipe is delicious!!! Best chili I have ever had. I had to add a bit of cayenne pepper to it to spice it up a little. Left the brown sugar in it and added a can of white kidney beans. So delicious thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Very good and simple. For a little more spice, we added 2x the chili powder, and used a couple thai chilis instead of green chilis (with the volume of chili, this gave it a nice mild spice (that was lacking in the recipe). We also used blackstrap molasses instead of brown sugar (better for you, easy to control sugar), and we added fresh sliced tomato, red bell pepper, and a can of tomato paste to control the liquid. We were very happy with the result. (it was also ready within about 30-40 min cooking time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe receives 2 thumbs up from us. My husband said it was my best chili recipes I've ever made. I made it in the crock pot and it was Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used ground Elk meat. Did everything as directed except I left the chilies out and I cut back on the brown sugar (phenomenal)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I tried this recipe for our House Warming Party and I can honestly say this is the WORST I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rjones0316

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Love this recipe! I first tried it with Elk and have since made it with ground beef, ground turkey and chopped up chicken. I have a savory preference so I omit the brown sugar. I add a can of Great Northern Beans (white beans) for a color contrast and fiber boost and use a big 29oz can of tomato sauce instead of two smaller cans. My husband and kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Followed it to a T. But I did add chipolte peppers for heat and it was bombdiggity!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I was looking for a recipe using a crockpot because of the simple fact that I do not have a stove right now. I also didn't have any meat thawed out - and had been given some elk that had been canned. This is the perfect recipe. It is spicy and slightly sweet which doesn't overpower the meat or beans. I will definitely make this again. The only change I made was that I used a can of fire roasted tomatoes with green chilies. If you decide to make this recipe, you will be making an excellent choice. This will become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Amanda Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Yeah, maybe back off the sugar just a tad. I think its important to mask what could be strong elk taste - but start with a 1/4 cup instead. Otherwise, my wife is sitting here enjoying it - and having 2nds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States