Elk Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is a great Chili recipe I added some Liquid Smoke and I used Cayenne pepper instead of the black pepper and 2 tsp of Ancho chile pepper and 1 hot link chopped and fried w\meat the flavor is BOLD W\an OUTDOOR CAMPING W\ a MILD SWEET then MILD WARMING SENSATION
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a really good chili that is not too tomato-ey or too much chili powder. All my kids and my wife liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was really GOOD. I was looking for a hearty dish to use up some elk tips and thought they would work with this recipe. Aside from not using ground meat, the only change I made was adding red pepper flakes. Otherwise...terrific chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Very good. I did add garlic when cooking the meat and onions, and I used 2-3 tablespoons of brown sugar. I cannot imagine using a half cup. I did not add green chilies because I used diced tomatoes with jalapenos. Delicious. I thought this way was the perfect blend of sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libbs81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this for 80 people for a Cub Scout camping trip. I halved the brown sugar. This was wonderful. Smooth with a little kick at the finish. It was great. I had people begging to buy the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie in Fla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Excellent use of Elk meat. I followed the recipe to a T and I am very, very pleased with it. I used the full 1/2 cup of brown sugar and it was just right, this is not meant to be a spicy chili, it is mild, smooth and absolutely delicious!! I will probably use stewed tomatoes next time in place of the italian, because those pieces are pretty large and I ended up cutting them down while they were cooking anyway. I also like the use of the canned kidney beans as they are already softened up which is normally the hardest part of cooking chili. Great recipe, thanks for sharing, I would have given 6 stars if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This a good recipe and a great starter to build on. Elk is much different than beef for sure. I used 2 pounds of Elk Sausage and thought this was the best recipe to start with. I used more spice to accomodate for the extra meat. I did cut back on the brown sugar, but do not think it was necessary. I added ground sea salt to taste and paprika and used Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beer Can Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This recipe made a great base for my own concoction. I sauteed the elk and onions in olive oil and 1/4c brown sugar. Then used the crock pot to slow cook while the family was out skiing. Added corn, mushrooms and black beans...yum! It was a very nice dinner to come home to...Don't forget the shredded cheese and garlic bread! Update: Doubled this recipe to feed 50+ at a CFC function. Received rave reviews!! I used Louisiana hot sauce to cut down on the sweetness and chunky salsa instead of stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicespam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I cut the sugar in half, as well, and it was still too sweet. Next time will only get about two tablespoons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evy Rennich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe with a few of my own changes...I added mushrooms and baked beans and used only 1 tablespoon brown sugar. This added bulkiness and less sugar. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States