Elk Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
It was great until I added the sugar. I olnly used 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup. Too sweet.... Just personal preference. I will make this easy recipe again. Without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was very good, but I made quite a few modifications. I read the reviews and cut the brown sugar in half and pretty much doubled the chili powder, and also added a whole bunch of other ingredients (3 garlic cloves, a bell pepper, a fresno pepper, paprika, cayenne, dash of liquid smoke, dash of Worcestershire, and a dash of Chipotle Tabasco). Even with all the extra ingredients, it was still a bit sweet for me, so I would go down to just maybe 2 tablespoons of sugar next time. Husband loved it! You could even serve this to people who aren't fans of elk- it tasted like beef to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I chose this recipe ( versus using my usual chili recipe) in case I had to disguise the fact it had elk in it for my husband. It was great. My son rated it an A- which is really good by his standards. I would have made it a little less spicy for my taste, but the men in my family liked it the way it is. I think it would be a great chili with ground beef as well- will try it when the elk we were given runs out! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This didn't turn out well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Excellent, simple recipe. Would change around the spices a bit, but quite edible even following recipe to the "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Great recipe, used front quarter and thinly sliced meat instead of using gound, it was wonderful! I would recommend this to anyone with elk that wants a great chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was excellent but I made a few additions: 1 link chorizo,I use only Santa Cruz red chili. 3 cloves garlic, 1 can tomato paste and I used a 28 oz can of tomotoes. I agree on half the brown sugar. Fresh cilantro and NO cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Freaking Awsome! reading the reveiws after i made it i figured out what they were talking about. if you cant take the chile heat you do have to cut the sugar. IF you love it like i do it is perfect! sweet and spicy i tossed the chile poder as i have a jalapeno bush out back minced 2 of those and instead of the small can of grean chile we have here in the sw this time of year fresh roasted chile on the side walk in abq. so i diced 3 of those and it was sooooo good! also subbed jarred black eyed peas for the kidneys cuz i didnt have any. so so good. oops i amost forgot. i only had elk in 1lb packages but i had a 1/2lb of beakfast sausage so ... never going to forget this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Delicious!! Made this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazkabor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is a great Chili recipe I added some Liquid Smoke and I used Cayenne pepper instead of the black pepper and 2 tsp of Ancho chile pepper and 1 hot link chopped and fried w\meat the flavor is BOLD W\an OUTDOOR CAMPING W\ a MILD SWEET then MILD WARMING SENSATION
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States