Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I'm and experienced baker, and made this cake for a chocolate-loving friend's birhtday, and he loved it. This cake is chocolatey, and not overly sweet. For anyone having trouble with this cake, here's what I did: 1. always grease and flour your baking pans, then place parchment paper in them, and grease and flour (use cocoa for a chocolate cake) the paper. My cakes never stick when I do this. 2. The butter to sugar ratio in this recipe is low, it just won't cream. This is no big deal, the cake will still turn out well. Just go ahead and add one egg and then begin creaming. 3. Beat the butter/sugar/egg mixture at least two minutes, then add another egg, beat two more minutes, add the third egg, beat at least two more minutes. 4. This recipe will fill 3 9-in. cake pans if each one is filled slightly less than halfway. This makes an impressive looking cake when ganache and frosting is spread between each layer. 5. To make the ganache, boil the cream over medium heat, then add the chocolate chips, lower the heat, and whisk briskly until smooth. 6. This recipe's buttercream frosting is good, but unnecessarily complicated. Just cream the butter, mix the cream, vanilla and chocolate together,alternately add it and the confectioner's sugar to the creamed butter, then the cream cheese. I found the frosting too thick, so I added 3 tbs. milk. I left out the egg yolk completely. 7. Cake assembly-pour the ganache in the center of each layer, then carefully spread it just to the edge. Chil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
As someone who has never baked with ganache before, it would have been helpful to know that I should have refrigerated or whipped it before trying to spread it on the cake. It was a colossal disaster. The worst baking experience I have ever had. Ganache spilling everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KRAZYKEL028
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
WOW!! I had never made a cake from scratch but wanted to try. I was a little leary and VERY scared. I pretty much followed this recipe exact with the exception that I used semisweet choc chips for the ganache. This cake was VERY time consuming - im sure that might have something to do with my inexperience. I did refridgerate the ganache (overnight, actually since it became very late) In the morning I whipped it with a hand mixer and it was perfect. I didn't think the batter was too thin and it fit fine in 2 pans. I also did firmly pack the brown sugar as I think someone else had suggested. Ok so I twisted things a little by frosting the entire cake with the ganache and using the buttercream frosting to garnish on top and the bottom - I also shaved some chocolate for decor. (im going to see if I can figure out how to load a pic).. Here's the best part - I take this absolutely beautiful cake to work with me tonight and had it in a crystal disply case (I work in a restaurant) I added it as a dessert special and of course because of the beauty of it was ordered by the very first table of the night. I was mortified because even with its looks I was so afraid that with the first cut it would collapse or explode or worse, I was afraid it would taste disgusting all put together. HOLY MOLY, it was a hit!! We sold almost the whole cake and people went on about it being the best cake they ever had and how moist it was, etc. I was beaming and LOVED taking credit for it!! Thank U!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRAZYKEL028

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I usually don't trust recipes I find on the internet. However, this recipe looked so good that I tried it out on a family gathering. It was really great. An option that I really enjoyed was for the ganache: I made it first, then let it set for about 3 hours while I made the rest of the cake, stirring it every once in a while. The chocolate I used for it was the Ghiradelli's 60% Cacao chocolate chips (also comes in a bar form). That chocolate is amazing and made the ganache to die for!!!! Also it says to grease and flour the pans and that is a good idea. I used pam and flour and that works amazing-perhaps better than butter or crisco. And do watch out for the changes in vanilla. The cake says 1 1/5 tablespoons vanilla, yet in the directions it says 1 1/5 teaspoons...I opted for the teaspoons and it turned out great. I had some fresh raspberries that I sprinkled on top and around the bottom of the cake. This cake is amazing and will be a favorite of mine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This cake is fantastic! It got rav reviews from friends and family alike. I have a friend who asks me if I made it again almost everytime I see her! Personal Preference - I make the ganache and the frosting FIRST. Then the cake. By the time the cake is cooled the ganache and frosting are perfect spreading consistencies. And sometimes I use semi-sweet chocolate for the ganache - it depends what is in the cupboard. It's the perfect chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Have NO idead what went wrong with this recipe - but my own experience with this one is pure disaster. Prior to adding the boiling water to the batter, the batter looked terrific. I added the 1 cup of boiling water to the batter, and the batter became very thin (as the recipe says it will become). However, the recipe says it makes TWO 9 inch layers - but instead, it filled THREE 9 inch layers. (Now here's the worst part...) When baking in the oven, all three layers overflowed - badly - and the cake seemingly refused to bake(?). The recipe says 35-40 minutes to bake, and, after an hour & 15 minutes, I finally just took the pans out of the oven. The cakes were lopsided - and sunken in. When taking the layers out of the pan, ALL cake layers stuck badly to the pans. One of the layers came out like a DOUGHNUT(?!?) - about 3" diameter staying inside the pan! This is for a birthday party, tomorrow night, so I iced the cake anyway - but this cake is, without doubt, one of the ugliest, lopsided cakes I've ever made - and I'm actually afraid to see what it tastes like. Luckily, I have ice cream to go with it - so I'll most likely stop at the store & get stuff to make ice cream sundaes, just in case the first bite of cake tells me not to serve it to anyone else... Very, very odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by exnyker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
I won second place OVERALL at our State Fair with this cake....over approx 250 cakes! It is fabulous. My only change is I use choco-bake instead of unsweetened chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This was OK. Just watch the amount of vanilla listed in the ingredients versus what it says in the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
TO DIE FOR! That's all I have to say about this cake. I made it for a BBQ for my family and EVERYONE loved it. 3 people requested where I got the recipe from. It is an involved recipe, but it's not difficult and most ingredients are in your pantry. I love to bake so doing all the steps was fun for me. I mixed part unsweetened chocolate and semi-sweet and it was delicious. I have never added boiling water to a cake mix and was a little alarmed when it was bubbly, but it was totally fine. I would maybe suggest using wax paper on the bottom of the pan to help with removal from the pans. That was my only slight mishap. Awesome cake! THANKS for SHARING your concoction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This is an excellent Chocolate cake to make. The cake part is so moist and almost brownie like that you could eat it just like that with no frosting at all. I ended up adding some sugar to the ganache filling cause I thought it was a tad too bitter for me. I also used Parchment paper to line my pans and they almost fell out it was so easy to remove from the pans. The frosting is a little thick and heavy and was kinda hard to spread over the Ganache filling. All in all I would make this again. I am having a dinner party tonight and will let you know what others think about it...This is a very very chocolate cake with a nice frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States