Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I was a little nervous to try this recipe because of what people said about it being too watery. As I was making it, I realized the recipe didn't say "packed" for the brown sugar amount. That could be the problem for those with a too watery recipe. My batter seemed a little thin, but not excessive, and it's in the oven now, cooking up nicely. We'll eat it tonight and I'll let you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
The best chocolated cake I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Have NO idead what went wrong with this recipe - but my own experience with this one is pure disaster. Prior to adding the boiling water to the batter, the batter looked terrific. I added the 1 cup of boiling water to the batter, and the batter became very thin (as the recipe says it will become). However, the recipe says it makes TWO 9 inch layers - but instead, it filled THREE 9 inch layers. (Now here's the worst part...) When baking in the oven, all three layers overflowed - badly - and the cake seemingly refused to bake(?). The recipe says 35-40 minutes to bake, and, after an hour & 15 minutes, I finally just took the pans out of the oven. The cakes were lopsided - and sunken in. When taking the layers out of the pan, ALL cake layers stuck badly to the pans. One of the layers came out like a DOUGHNUT(?!?) - about 3" diameter staying inside the pan! This is for a birthday party, tomorrow night, so I iced the cake anyway - but this cake is, without doubt, one of the ugliest, lopsided cakes I've ever made - and I'm actually afraid to see what it tastes like. Luckily, I have ice cream to go with it - so I'll most likely stop at the store & get stuff to make ice cream sundaes, just in case the first bite of cake tells me not to serve it to anyone else... Very, very odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by exnyker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
It is chocolatey but wasn't as moist as I think it should be. I also like the previous reviewer was unable to cream the butter with the sugar, it seemed like the butter was not enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I used just the cake recipe for a raspberry chocolate cake I made the other day and this cake is just amazing. It's so moist and perfectly fudgey, this is definitely going to be my chocolate cake recipe for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I am not sure what happened...I didn't think the cake itself was very chocolatey at all! I also had a hard time getting the cake out of the pan. All the layers split or stuck in the pan. I must remember next time to use baking paper to line the pans. Sorry! I hope everyone else has better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This cake is outrageously delicious!!! It was a big hit at our office birthday party. Everyone loved it! Please note that it made 3 9-inch layers, not two. I also added about 1/2 cup confectioner's sugar to the ganache to thicken and sweeten just a little. The cake was moist and dark-the perfect chocolate cake. I didn't use the frosting recipe because the raw egg yolk sounded gross but the chocolate cream cheese frosting on another recipe on this site was a great substitute. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Totally awesome! Everyone LOVED it. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Wonderful recipe. Extremely rich, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This was amazing and so delicious. It took the entire afternoon to make though. I also think that you could get away with making half the amount of ganache. I agree with the other reviewers that the icing is hard to spread. Overall though, this was absolutely delicious and worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States